Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 05:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default GPU3 Issues. (solved, new GPU3 WUs coming)

Last night I got a ton of EUE's and NAN's on my GPU3 client, I thought it was my just northbridge unable to handle my GTX470+Q6600 O/C, so I reset all the clocks to stock. Temps were perfectly fine as well. Still wouldn't start folding properly, so I ended up deleting the WU's and trying again, still no go. A little frustrated I just reinstalled the GPU3 client. Still nothing.

Hardware should all be running fine, haven't run into any issues yet, but I'm still stress testing individual components.

I attached my log, I can't seem to find any obvious problems but maybe I'm just too frustrated to tell.

System specs are the one in my profile.

EDIT: As per my post below, GPU3 is getting new WUs, on stock settings my GTX 470 gets just over 12k PPD on most of the new WUs, slightly better than before. The mild PPD boost isn't what's so great about them, it's the low stress they put on the GPU. GPU core temps have yet to go over 60C under 100% load at stock settings. Temps have always been the limiting factor in O/Cing my Fermi, but now I get to push it even more thanks to these new WUs.
Attached Files
File Type: txt FAHlog.txt (17.7 KB, 186 views)
__________________

Last edited by ilya; September 9, 2010 at 02:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 06:22 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,425

My System Specs

Default

Try deleting the core(s), Work folder, and queue.dat file.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 08:23 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,254

My System Specs

Default

I am assuming this is your only GPU in the system? And do you have CUDA enabled for this GPU in the Nvidia Control Panel?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2010, 09:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

After checking drivers, furmark, and every imaginable setting, I think there was nothing wrong on my end.

I think it was an issue with Stanford though I can't confirm. I just tried firing up the client and it worked, only difference is I'm getting WU's that I haven't seem before. (P11250 worth 912 points, normally get ~600 point WUs, 106XX, 109XX, etc.) So far PPD has seen a mild boost and temps are SIGNIFICANTLY better.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 07:42 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Lol.. i just noticed that your getting 912 ilya.. did you add a -advmethods flag to gpu3 or how are your getting the new wu?? if these new wu lower the temps of 470's then thats awesome..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 09:16 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

I just got one of the new wu. my folding temp dropped 5C... nice
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Beta Of GPU3 Core Released - nVidia Only For Now LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 47 June 15, 2010 10:32 PM
GPU3 IS AROUND THE CORNER! Sorta geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 May 2, 2010 02:18 PM
GPU3 In Public Beta Next Week geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 April 1, 2010 05:16 PM
Update On GPU3, ATi Version Will Be Delayed LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 January 14, 2010 03:21 PM
Core Updates And GPU3 News LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 October 23, 2009 09:08 PM