Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 15, 2010, 08:24 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

Default New to HWC and F@H

Hello, I am new to the forums (well, I've been lurking for about a year now), and I am new to F@H.

I just started folding last night with my 1055t at 3.0ghz. My first Project that was assigned has 2 million steps. I let my computer run all night, to find out it is only 50% done in the morning. Is this normal?

I will be water cooling it soon, so I can run it at 4+ ghz, how much of an improvement will this bring? I have a set rate power bill, so I am thinking of grabbing a few more machines and having a room with computers dedicated to folding on gpus in the future.

Also, Should I be folding on my 5870 simultaneously with my 1055t? I have a very nice case with awesome ventilation.

Can I only see my points after this 2 million step project gets finished?
Old August 15, 2010, 08:55 AM
Banned
F@H

My System Specs

How did you set up Folding@home? Did you follow my guide? Also, did you follow chriskwarren's guide for setting up HFM.NET to monitor your clients? If not, I suggest you go back and follow them. As for whether or not your performance is normal, that is impossible to tell without knowing what unit you are working on. Scroll up in the F@H window to where it tells you which project you're working on and let me know.

Running your CPU at 4GHz or higher should give a large performance improvement in F@H.

You could fold on your 5870 as well. Follow the instructions here first, and then download the 6.32 GPU client at the top of this page: Folding@home - DownloadWinOther

You receive points for work units that you complete. In order to see points, you have to fully finish a unit and then upload it to the project servers. You don't get points until that happens.
Old August 15, 2010, 09:05 AM
Folding Captain

My System Specs

Welcome to the team imagi :)