Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2007, 08:21 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 655

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
What will you be doing with a dual-lot server? That is a lot of crunching power.
Long story short, I'm starting up a rendering farm. 4 Node to start, up to 20 nodes is decently cost effective licensing wise. Any more then the 4 nodes if needed and profitable I'll look into starting a business. To start i have a handfull of digital media ppl who have been getting into trouble rendering their hobbies at work :)
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 06:01 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Long story short, I'm starting up a rendering farm. 4 Node to start, up to 20 nodes is decently cost effective licensing wise. Any more then the 4 nodes if needed and profitable I'll look into starting a business. To start i have a handfull of digital media ppl who have been getting into trouble rendering their hobbies at work :)
Good luck with the farm!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 11:47 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default

Looks like i'll be going to the dark side (I've been die-hard AMD since the Athlon XP days) and picking up a Q6600 ($269) and Maximus Formula ($244) soon. Can't really resist with these prices hehe.

I wonder what AMD's surprise will be in a few hours AMD will surprise on Monday - The INQUIRER

Speculations:
- HAHA just kidding april fools, LOLz here's our "Real" phenom line which destroys the intel chips (I wish hehe)
- Phenom Black edition?
Who knows?
__________________
Q6600 G0 @3.5ghz (Thermalright Ultra X 120)
Asus Maximus Formula 903
A-Data DDR 800 4 x 1gb, EVGA 8800GT SSC (Zalman VF900)
Antec NeoPower Blue 650W, Antec 900

HTPC: X2 64 5000+ Black @3.3ghz (AC 64 Pro)
A-Data DDR 800 2 x 1gb, Radeon 2600 Pro HDMI
Asus M2N-E, Antec Sonata, 380W TruePower


Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 04:26 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieTO View Post
Looks like i'll be going to the dark side (I've been die-hard AMD since the Athlon XP days) and picking up a Q6600 ($269) and Maximus Formula ($244) soon. Can't really resist with these prices hehe.

I wonder what AMD's surprise will be in a few hours AMD will surprise on Monday - The INQUIRER

Speculations:
- HAHA just kidding april fools, LOLz here's our "Real" phenom line which destroys the intel chips (I wish hehe)
- Phenom Black edition?
Who knows?
That will raise your production by quite a bit... and if you really want to push it, install Vmware with dual Linux distros, both running FAH. Then you'll have a 4000+ ppd rig!

Welcome to the Dark Side....
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2007, 12:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

I'm now back at home running my test bed 24/7 (I couldn't leave it running during the day while on course so it only ran about 14 hours / day for the last 2 months) so I should be back up to 2000+ / day, and one way or the other I'm going to be getting my main rig up and running over the next couple of weeks so I'll be back up to 4000+ before the end of the year. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2007, 02:47 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default main rig

SSwilson...thats the rig in the worklog? guess youll fire it up soon.
Forums missed your posts...good to see you back
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2007, 03:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictorch View Post
SSwilson...thats the rig in the worklog? guess youll fire it up soon.
Forums missed your posts...good to see you back
Yep, the one in my worklog is my main rig. I still don't have the brackets for the rad, should have something worked out by the end of next week for that.

Thanks for the welcome back. I'm still working at getting settled back into home life, and Christmas will take up much of my time, but I will be back into posting mode shortly. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2007, 06:46 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yep, the one in my worklog is my main rig. I still don't have the brackets for the rad, should have something worked out by the end of next week for that.

Thanks for the welcome back. I'm still working at getting settled back into home life, and Christmas will take up much of my time, but I will be back into posting mode shortly. :)
Welcome back Steve, the Team missed your production especially since pscout's production is also dropping. Fortunately, we managed to have new members join us!

My 2 Quads have been offline for 2 days, since my APC UPS decided to call it quits Wednesday night... ever seen a UPS calling it quits? It actually smoked... you've never seen a guys shutting down rigs as fast as I did.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 08:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My 2 Quads have been offline for 2 days, since my APC UPS decided to call it quits Wednesday night... ever seen a UPS calling it quits? It actually smoked... you've never seen a guys shutting down rigs as fast as I did.

John
Heh... never seen it happen to a UPS, but I have "let the magic smoke out" of a few pieces of kit in my life, almost always followed by "shut it off!!!! shut it off!!!" :)

Since you're not moaning... I'm assuming that there was no damage other than to the UPS itself?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 06:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Nope, I was lucky. I replaced the UPS and everything is up and running.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes