Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 10:40 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 530

My System Specs

Default BigAdv for Windows is here - A3 bug in Linux

Hey all,

Just got my first project 2684 on Windows SMP. I'm using the -bigadv flag and allocating 4096MB to the client. I've had this set for a while in brazen anticipation of this, and it's finally here.

Performance is on par or slightly better than the Linux VM so far, after only three frames completed. Memory use is less than 1GB, so theoretically shouldn't be a problem on those 3GB i7 9x0 boxes (hopefully).

Apparently there is an A3 Linux bug so they've turned off BigAdv for linux now. Like we needed to hear what we already knew!

Check here:

Folding Forum • View topic - How many -bigadv A2's are left?

And here:

Folding Forum • View topic - How many -bigadv A2's are left?

Happy folding!
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732

Last edited by 10e; June 29, 2010 at 10:41 AM. Reason: Forgot something, stop asking questions
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 11:15 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

This looks exciting. When I get home I'll see what both my rigs will do.

Edit: Folks should be aware of the following warning from Kasson though"
Quote:
Run with the -bigadv command line option. (2684 is recently turned on for windows bigadv; we may turn this on and off depending on load for the moment, but we expect to have it stably on in the future.)
I bolded the warning part.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 12:16 PM
ottoyu34's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, On
Posts: 209
Default

Thanks 10e! I shut off my VM and started up my windows SMP client again with "-smp 12 -bigadv" flags

will report back.
__________________
ATCS 840| Core i7 920 - 4.2Ghz - H20| Corsair Dominator GT 1600Mhz 6GB| EVGA X58 Classified| GTX480 2-Way SLI| WD 640GB X2 (Raid 0)| Corsair HX1000W
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 12:46 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Can we get a layman's translation on this? lol.... I'm assuming this means that Windows boxes no longer need to run one or more VMs in order to use multiple cores? If thats the case, this may be the break I was waiting for to get B into the fold... Hmmm...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 01:24 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Can we get a layman's translation on this? lol.... I'm assuming this means that Windows boxes no longer need to run one or more VMs in order to use multiple cores? If thats the case, this may be the break I was waiting for to get B into the fold... Hmmm...
This is correct. Follow Zero's guide here:
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-pictures.html

When you get to this step (shown below), enter -bigadv instead of -advmethods.



I am currently getting ~17K PPD on a 3.6GHZ i7, and my rig (running tonnes of apps) is using about 3GB.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 01:48 PM
Neolithium_Wpg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lancaster Park, Alberta
Posts: 732
Default

Great, I just got rid of my desktop in lieu of a laptop, now bigadv shows up for Windows. If I end up getting posted and buying a dual Xeon rig my wife is gonna kill me! Hmmm, does that mean she gets one Xeon in the divorce?
__________________
Dell XPS8700 | Asus x101ch | iPhone 5 (iOS7)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 02:45 PM
ottoyu34's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, On
Posts: 209
Default

My 980X @4Ghz running:
Project: 2684
TPF: 35min
verson: 2.19
credit: 71992 (with bonus)
PPD: 29,465
__________________
ATCS 840| Core i7 920 - 4.2Ghz - H20| Corsair Dominator GT 1600Mhz 6GB| EVGA X58 Classified| GTX480 2-Way SLI| WD 640GB X2 (Raid 0)| Corsair HX1000W
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 03:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

shouldnt a 4 giger hexa core i7 do more ppd with bigadv? impressive nonetheless! more impressive is that we finally can get it working in winders!@@@
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 04:16 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoyu34 View Post
My 980X @4Ghz running:
Project: 2684
TPF: 35min
verson: 2.19
credit: 71992 (with bonus)
PPD: 29,465
Thats pretty good...my TPF on the same project is 50.08 (17K)
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 04:40 PM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neolithium_Wpg View Post
Great, I just got rid of my desktop in lieu of a laptop, now bigadv shows up for Windows. If I end up getting posted and buying a dual Xeon rig my wife is gonna kill me! Hmmm, does that mean she gets one Xeon in the divorce?
You are forgetting half of the board too... been there, done that.

Temps are lower by 3C too.
tpf to come after a few frames.

CM, get it on.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-Bigadv To Start Using The A3 Core, Still No Windows Version LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 May 25, 2010 01:48 PM
IMPORTANT FOR BIGADV USERS: -bigadv workunits now require the 6.29 Linux SMP client Zero82z HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 9, 2010 03:35 PM
Run Linux Inside Windows geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 May 15, 2009 09:04 PM
Windows 7 RC gets its first bug mklym O/S's, Drivers & General Software 21 May 13, 2009 01:15 PM
annoying windows vista bug cujo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 June 3, 2007 01:24 PM