Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 02:49 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Did you post over at the Folding Forums about the problems you're getting with Project 2684?

Is your RAM stable? Temperatures in check?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 03:02 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Did you post over at the Folding Forums about the problems you're getting with Project 2684?

Is your RAM stable? Temperatures in check?
Other folks over there at FF complaining about A3 units too. They are the bigadv equivalent of the 511s.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 03:07 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I know what you're talking about 10e - the other reason I asked, is because I had so many units fail on my 860 box.. about three in a row when they started getting the a3 units.. That, and it takes basically 4 days to complete a work unit now. Longer time = more chance something will go wrong, especially with these new units.
I just had both my i7 bigadv boxes fail their workunits last night, for reasons unknown - after about a day in of folding each.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2010, 09:09 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Did you post over at the Folding Forums about the problems you're getting with Project 2684?

Is your RAM stable? Temperatures in check?
On my most reliable two i7 920s I've had them fail at startup, and on my one i7 860 it failed at 63%.

All three boxes have been memtested and Prime95/Linx stable tested for 24 hrs and this was while the GPU clients were running to make load as realistic as possible. Ie. Prime95 or LinX and GPU folding at the same time.

All three at their current settings have never failed an A2 BigAdv unit unless a power outage happened.

Also none of them exceed 70 celsius on any core while SMP folding or BigAdv A2/A3 folding. One, an i7 920 C0 that can do 4.0 Ghz at its current voltages, is at 3.8Ghz and is super stable, and yet has also failed two or three A3 BigAdv units at startup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Other folks over there at FF complaining about A3 units too. They are the bigadv equivalent of the 511s.
I happen to be one of them along with some guys from [H]ardOCP. I posted my logs to show them the issues. We'll see what happens. This better improve or my last two BigAdv folders will be WinSMP converts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
I know what you're talking about 10e - the other reason I asked, is because I had so many units fail on my 860 box.. about three in a row when they started getting the a3 units.. That, and it takes basically 4 days to complete a work unit now. Longer time = more chance something will go wrong, especially with these new units.
I just had both my i7 bigadv boxes fail their workunits last night, for reasons unknown - after about a day in of folding each.
Yeah, that's horrible. We can't cherry-pick the BigAdv WUs. WinSMP is looking pretty sweet now even with the PPD hit.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732

Last edited by 10e; June 4, 2010 at 09:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 09:19 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

So now that I have a machine again I'd like to start folding again. Is bigadv under Linux still the best way to go in terms of PPD?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 10:02 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
So now that I have a machine again I'd like to start folding again. Is bigadv under Linux still the best way to go in terms of PPD?
Difference between normal windows SMP2 unit VS Linux bigadv doesn't worth the hassle (and WU lost risk).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 10:57 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Basically, a i7 920 clocked to 4Ghz will do ~16-20k PPD under windows SMP2 client with advmethods.
Under linux VM with bigadv, the A2 bigadv units will be ~30kppd, and the A3 bigadv will be ~18-22k ppd. So yeah, considering 1/4 of my bigadv in the past weeks are A3.. it's worth it.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsent work units Wi-Fuzzy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 March 11, 2010 10:23 AM
Units not found lechumbl HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 14, 2010 03:17 PM
IMPORTANT FOR BIGADV USERS: -bigadv workunits now require the 6.29 Linux SMP client Zero82z HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 9, 2010 04:35 PM
Small rack units? 3.0charlie Cases 5 September 5, 2008 06:31 PM
Cannot retrieve work units Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 October 29, 2007 08:56 AM