Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2010, 03:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

To use both of your cores, I believe you will need to disable Crossfire. You must use the -gpu 0 and -gpu 1 flags for the first and second clients respectively.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2010, 07:00 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 511

My System Specs

Default

For me whenever I've disabled Crossfire, the second GPU always receive a "Core Client Communications Error 0xFFFFFFFFFFFF" unless I had a secondary monitor connection and/or dummy plug connected. This was the case with all Windows O/Ses not just Win7/Vista.

But the part about -gpu 0 and -gpu 1 is correct and required. I don't believe the client can spread the load over both GPUs, though I haven't tried dual-GPU ATI folding in some time.

Shredder there is a measure of instability in the console ATI client. I've had the same thing happen with ATI clients in the past using this "dos box" version, where I hit CTRL-C, received some sort of popup box with an error, and all of the WU was lost. Not fun.

Better to use the SysTray client with the proper parameters set (ie. -gpu 0 and -gpu 1) and just pause it when you want to stop it.

You may also want to check out this Folding Forum post regarding environment variables that need to be entered to reduce physical CPU Core usage.

Folding Forum • View topic - ATI v1.24 Core available

Also, make sure to rename the AMDCALxx.dll or ATICALxx.dll files in the Folding Clients working directory to use the latest CAL drivers in the ATI Catalyst driver set, vs. the outdated ones with the folding client.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 07:47 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Update

The use of the -forceasm argument seems to have allowed the second gpu to run full throttle. Thanks for all the pointers folks my ppd is already climbing.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 08:08 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
I pause them if I am using the systray client.

Crtl-C as zero mentioned should shut down the console in an orderly fashion. Something must be up if you are losing work.
+1

I used to shut it down by pressing X or shutting down the computer in the morning.

Is there a way to make Windows 7 shutdown by pressing the power button while at the log in page? I used to do it by pressing the power button in Windows XP, but this doesn't work in Windows 7.

I would advise you to stay away from the systray client. Full of bugs and instability when using the viewer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 08:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
I would advise you to stay away from the systray client. Full of bugs and instability when using the viewer.
As long as you don't use the viewer, the systray client is a fair amount easier to configure and manage than the console version.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are your GPU clients showing server errors? chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 20 December 26, 2009 10:00 AM
Gpu clients down Ogdin HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 August 5, 2009 10:22 PM
What's a safe load temp for an overclocked GPU? chouchou Video Cards 19 December 29, 2008 11:21 AM
Noob question: Can i fold with 2 clients - CPU & GPU? Kayen HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 October 10, 2008 08:40 PM
[H] Consumer and [H] Console shutting down Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 3 April 30, 2007 09:52 AM