Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 02:46 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I can speak to this as I've run into it myself. The only monitoring software that appears to be giving reasonably believable temps on the Crosshair IV is the actual ASUS branded software. All other software (including the AMD overdrive software) appears to be reporting around 12c low.
How do you know it's 12C lower? Couldn't the ASUS program be 12C higher?

Have you guys tried using HWMonitor to track temps?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 02:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Because the coretemp reported temps simply aren't believable. As it stands, my 100% SMP2 load temps are reported as 47c in the ROG software and 34c in coretemp (same as the AMD software) at aprox 22c ambient. There's no way that my full load OC'd processor is only running 12c over ambient temps.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 04:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Heat is the BYPRODUCT of increased power consumption. Basically, as efficiency goes down, power consumption AND heat production increase.
The correct way of phrasing that would be that as power consumption increases, heat also increases, and the increase in heat leads to a reduction in efficiency, which itself leads to more power consumption and more heat production.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 04:59 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Because the coretemp reported temps simply aren't believable. As it stands, my 100% SMP2 load temps are reported as 47c in the ROG software and 34c in coretemp (same as the AMD software) at aprox 22c ambient. There's no way that my full load OC'd processor is only running 12c over ambient temps.
You can't use Tjunction sensors with AMD CPUs. I've seen it in their CPU documentation before for the Athlon series. They only go by Tcase temps. I've said it many times but people just ignore me or think I'm crazy. Heck I even provide the documentation for it and sometimes they still think I'm crazy.

Now this might've all changed with the newer CPUs, but if the Tjunction sensors are still giving out those kinds of values, then I'm going to guess that they're defective as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 05:29 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Supposedly (from the ASUS website) asus is using a new method of reporting temps which is "fixed" in the lastest version of AMD overclocking software. I haven't had a chance to check the new version out yet so can only go by what tools I currently have. Every tool other than the ROG software reports temps much lower than what can be believed so I'm sticking with the ROG software for now.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 05:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that..or go directly inbetween the cooler and cpu and see what reading you get there. too much work, but could be fun to see what actual temps are recorded.

im telling all that dont need a hexa core on the spot to wait for 95 watters but i see none except oem's
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 07:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

IIRC there was a report/rumour about the other chips which stated that they won't be hitting retail channels at all.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2010, 04:23 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

thats what worries me. dont want to pick up a dell, drop a 125 watter in, snatch the 95 watter out. too much trouble lol
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2010, 08:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Hehehe....... You'd have to be careful with that. If the lower TDP chips are only available in OEM machines, there's a good possibility that retail motherboard bios' won't include them. That said.... I've looked into that kind of thing myself in the past for new builds.... If you can get it cheap enough, an OEM tower might be worthwhile for the CPU/HDD/ODD/MEM and then toss the rest of the crap. It's a pity the OS license ins't "Legally" transferable, but c'est la vie.......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2010, 08:46 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yessir. bought dells for cpus only. 100 bucks cheaper in the end
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes