Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 08:20 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Heat is the BYPRODUCT of increased power consumption. Basically, as efficiency goes down, power consumption AND heat production increase.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 08:25 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Even so, I don't see how its possible for overall consumption to go up that much when you're only adding half a volt over stock... Must test.

Sky, whatever happened to the X6 OCing article you promised us?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:02 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

EDIT: Oops, I was thinking wind power lol. Power increases by the cubic of wind speed.

Power IS related by the square of voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:13 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

I wish I could test this, but I don't have any form of power meter that will do in-line testing.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:13 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Sky, whatever happened to the X6 OCing article you promised us?
I didn't promise it. That was all MAC.

However, prep for Computex + some other rush articles got in the way. ETA is unknown.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:26 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I wish I could test this, but I don't have any form of power meter that will do in-line testing.
Testing now. Although I'm "only" at 3.6Ghz because i've been to busy to push beyond that thus far (plus it's been super hot recently)

Current OC:
3.6Ghz, Turbo core off, CnQ on - 1.38v
Rest of system:
Crosshair IV, 2x 5770s in Xfire, Ante TP-new 750w, (not too far from what TPUs setup)

Idle power (Read from my APC 1500VA load meter) = 160w
Full load on CPU = 270w

I suppose the only way to know for sure will be when I push to 4.0Ghz, but for now I don't see where TPU are getting their numbers from unless they were stressing Both the CPU and GPU at the same time by accident during a CPU review.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:31 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
It absolutely can be double.
Indeed it can. Here is the basic power formula
where V is voltage and I is current
Seeing as we're mainly playing with voltage and resistance (it never changes so its a known) we can move into the other power formulas

This shows that with a fixed resistance the power will actually increase quadratically making it possible for the power to double.

Stock 1.284V and the wattage is 144W which gives us an resistance of 0.008917 Ohms
Overclocking it to 1.5V and assuming the resistance stays the same (as it typically should though i dont know the actual properties) yields 252W.

This is an actual double in the power consumption, not near that of TPU's 440W, so either i'm off doing some basic calculations (again assuming resistance stays the same as the frequency increases) or someone at TPU dropped the ball on the actual wattage of this new cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

We'd need some stock results to be able to get an idea of the delta. Keep in mind that increases in power usage are exponential so anything is possible.

What proc are you using?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:35 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
We'd need some stock results to be able to get an idea of the delta. Keep in mind that increases in power usage are exponential so anything is possible.

What proc are you using?
Ill throw it back to stock a bit later and do the same thing again. I'm running 1090T.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:43 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Stock @ 3.2Ghz (Stock Volts)

Idle = 140w
CPU Load = 215w
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes