Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 07:52 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default New Folder here, CPU PPD question

Just started folding on my AMD Athlon II X2 240, not exactly sure how great it will be for folding, but wanted to contributed.

I wanted to make sure I set everything up right as my PPD seems kinda low compared to some of the numbers I see from other people here.

MY project number is 6328 and my PPD is 249.5. Are CPUs significantly disadvantaged against GPUs? I don't have a dedicated GPU so this will have to do I guess.

Also, can we fold on multiple machines under the same user name?
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 08:09 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLP06 View Post
Just started folding on my AMD Athlon II X2 240, not exactly sure how great it will be for folding, but wanted to contributed.

I wanted to make sure I set everything up right as my PPD seems kinda low compared to some of the numbers I see from other people here.

MY project number is 6328 and my PPD is 249.5. Are CPUs significantly disadvantaged against GPUs? I don't have a dedicated GPU so this will have to do I guess.

Also, can we fold on multiple machines under the same user name?
Your PPD seems low because you are running the single core Uniprocessor client.

I'm not that familiar with AMD proc's but your cpu at that speed should be able to handle the SMP client which can use multiple cores. See Zero's guide here; http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-pictures.html

You can certainly Fold on different machine's using the same user name, that's how most of us do it...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 08:22 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,626

My System Specs

Default

In addition to what LCB said, I suggest that you add the -smp flag at the highlighted area. http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...tml#post372900

Does your motherboard have ACC? Try and see you can unlock cores on your CPU. Also try overclocking it if you haven't. Should be able to hit 3.6Ghz fairly easy.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 09:04 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default

Thanks guys, I set up the SMP client, but I'm not sure if I'm able to make the deadlines for these. Is there a client with dual core processing but not accelarated deadlines
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 09:15 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLP06 View Post
Thanks guys, I set up the SMP client, but I'm not sure if I'm able to make the deadlines for these. Is there a client with dual core processing but not accelarated deadlines
It's either SMP2 or running two instances of the Uniprocessor client, there is no client specifically for a dual core.

What sort of PPD are you getting with the SMP2 ??...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 09:39 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,626

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLP06 View Post
Thanks guys, I set up the SMP client, but I'm not sure if I'm able to make the deadlines for these. Is there a client with dual core processing but not accelarated deadlines
I make the deadlines get some bonus points even on an AMD Athlon 64 X2 @ 2.65Ghz that's off at least 7 hours a day.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 09:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLP06 View Post
Thanks guys, I set up the SMP client, but I'm not sure if I'm able to make the deadlines for these. Is there a client with dual core processing but not accelarated deadlines
You will be able to meet the preferred deadlines with your CPU. My shitty laptop can do it and your CPU is significantly faster.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2010, 07:00 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
In addition to what LCB said, I suggest that you add the -smp flag at the highlighted area. http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...tml#post372900

Does your motherboard have ACC? Try and see you can unlock cores on your CPU. Also try overclocking it if you haven't. Should be able to hit 3.6Ghz fairly easy.
The Athlon II X2's only physically have 2 cores inside, so no core unlocking for me (I do have ACC on my board though). I am overclocked to 3.4ghz now, it's a SFF case, so heats up pretty quickly.

I'm searching for Phenom II X2 550, would help boost my folding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
It's either SMP2 or running two instances of the Uniprocessor client, there is no client specifically for a dual core.

What sort of PPD are you getting with the SMP2 ??...
I'm getting around 1900PPD now, was getting 250 PPD before, so am pretty happy with this :)
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just came fro mdentist.....this folder is done for _dangtx_ Off Topic 48 November 7, 2009 04:47 PM
Folder down redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 October 2, 2009 12:35 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 05:37 PM
Vista 64 winsxs folder r0bc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 June 8, 2009 04:02 PM
uknown folder maurier O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 June 5, 2008 08:33 AM