Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:22 AM
EaGle1337's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 419

My System Specs

Default Can't get my ati to fold..

gpu2 complains about my 5870 not being supported or needing a driver, i'm running 10.2 or 10.3a
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:25 AM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Try adding the following flag to the Client shortcut: -forcegpu ati_r700

Folding Forum • View topic - 5870 unable to install F@H
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:26 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EaGle1337 View Post
gpu2 complains about my 5870 not being supported or needing a driver, i'm running 10.2 or 10.3a
Have you extended the desktop to the second card?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:27 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 554

My System Specs

Default

Also, rename the AMDCALxx.DLL files in the folding directory to AMDCALxx.BAK, and restart the client with the flag shaw mentioned.

This will force the folding client to use the Catalyst provided AMDCALxx.DLL files. If using Windows 7 you should right-click the folding@home binary and run it in compatibility mode for Windows XP SP2.

That should do it.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:28 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Don't use the shortcut that Stanfords installer creates. Create a new one and add -forcegpu ati_r700 to the command line
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:33 AM
EaGle1337's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 419

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post
Also, rename the AMDCALxx.DLL files in the folding directory to AMDCALxx.BAK, and restart the client with the flag shaw mentioned.

This will force the folding client to use the Catalyst provided AMDCALxx.DLL files. If using Windows 7 you should right-click the folding@home binary and run it in compatibility mode for Windows XP SP2.

That should do it.
I don't see an amdCAlxx.dlls in my folding at home gpu directory, forcing it didn't work either, although it runs for about 5 seconds.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:36 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

They're hidden in...

C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu\

In Vista and Win7 probably somewhere under Documents and Settings under XP
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:39 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
They're hidden in...

C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu\

In Vista and Win7 probably somewhere under Documents and Settings under XP
There are here in XP: Documents and settings\USERNAME\Application Data\Folding@Home-gpu"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2010, 09:41 AM
EaGle1337's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 419

My System Specs

Default

now it's run into a serious error and has to shut down. it's in the same spot in win7 as xp.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fold Error Arinoth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 July 16, 2009 12:49 PM
Using CPU to fold BrokenHalo83 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 19, 2009 10:42 PM
Why Fold? biff HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 November 19, 2008 07:25 PM
Would This Be Good Enough To Fold? BALISTX HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 October 15, 2008 04:26 AM
Why do You Fold? Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 28, 2007 05:02 PM