Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 03:48 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

You can 'install' FAH where ever you want. As for 'killing' a SSD, my 2p and 4p folders are using SSDs without a single hick-up.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 04:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Default

hey guys. I started reading about this a couple of days ago. I have like a zillion questions but first, whats the purpose of this gigantic project? I mean, do you get paid or some kind of reward for lending your pc to do massive calculations? I mean, to do this properly I imagine you need to have a good pc.
ty
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 05:24 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r3uz0r View Post
hey guys. I started reading about this a couple of days ago. I have like a zillion questions but first, whats the purpose of this gigantic project? I mean, do you get paid or some kind of reward for lending your pc to do massive calculations? I mean, to do this properly I imagine you need to have a good pc.
ty
First off you don't get paid to do folding. The folding project contributions are more like making donations. The main purpose of the F@H project is to do protein folding to help find cures for various diseases. F@H is also non profit meaning any results the project comes up with anyone is free to use them. You also don't need a massively beefy system to contribute to the F@H project. Just about any computer built within the past 5 years or so(in some cases even older systems) would be able to contribute to the project however you have to weigh the effectiveness of the systems obviously newer systems will be able to complete work units faster and more efficiently than an older computer. The big main reward would most likely be contributing to find a cure maybe even a cure that could save your life one day. I suggest you read through the F@H FAQ section here: Folding@home - FAQ it covers most topics of the F@H project. Also if you have more questions or have trouble getting started don't hesitate to start a new thread in this section and ask specific questions.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 06:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Default

I will check that out! I didn't know it was such a serious project. I will try to help in any way I can. tyvm !
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2013, 01:41 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Been a while since I did old fashioned smp folding, seems to me it is supposed to max load your cpu. Mine is not and I do have the -smp flag set as well as prioritiy.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2013, 03:04 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

I think u need the -advmethods flag as well...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2014, 06:01 PM
EagerBeaver's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 28
Default

Hey guys, I'm very interested in starting to fold. I do have a question though - how long until I receive my passkey? I sent an email last evening and tried again this morning, but am yet to receive an email with my key.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2014, 07:03 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 285

My System Specs

Default

You may have to fold a bit first. But I am not sure. Maybe ask Chrisk our captain.
Welcome to the fold.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2014, 07:41 PM
EagerBeaver's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 28
Default

I there a way I can set an idle powerload and working powerload? For example, medium while working and full when idle? Also, what are the prerequisites for the computer to be identified as idle?

Edit: Aw man, I tried to change my fan curve in MSI Afterburner, so I changed my GPU to idle. When I started it back up, I lost ALL of my accumulated progress over the past two days. Is there anything I can do about this? The GPU is just stuck at ready and 0%.

Last edited by EagerBeaver; April 4, 2014 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rosetta @ Home - Setup Guide Chilly HardwareCanucks F@H Team 61 September 26, 2013 11:53 PM
Win7 Starter vrs Home Basic sswilson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 July 31, 2010 07:47 AM
Quick guide to using your PS3 for Folding@Home chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 May 2, 2010 10:16 AM
[FS] *SOLD* Poor Man's Folding Farm Starter Bundle sswilson Buy/Sell & Trade 17 January 5, 2010 08:49 PM
tech toy guides and faq guides. Il Duce Suggestions & Feedback 0 April 10, 2007 07:08 PM