Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 10:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
No. Use MPICH instead. DEINO is unsupported and is also incompatible with 64-bit versions of Windows.
I managed to figure it out on my own.
The Folding@Home Website says DEINO is more stable, which is major plus for me.
What do you mean its unsupported?
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 10:54 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
If you are using Windows Firewall, you should see a popup asking you if you want to make an exception for F@H. If you don't see it or accidentally clicked no, try turning off Windows Firewall altogether and see if the install process works. If you are behind a router, Windows Firewall is pretty much useless anyway.

Yup firewall problem, now I have core download errors, cannot extract core.......
__________________
heatware
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 10:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWanderer View Post
I managed to figure it out on my own.
The Folding@Home Website says DEINO is more stable, which is major plus for me.
What do you mean its unsupported?
The post you read pertains to the extremely old and outdated 5.92 client. That information does not apply any more. DEINO has been unsupported for a while, meaning there hasn't been any work to improve it at all other than adding support for newer client versions. In the future, MPI will be removed entirely from F@H as the A1 and A2 core are phased out and replaced completely by A3, but for the time being, MPICH should always be used instead of DEINO unless you can't get MPICH to work at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Yup firewall problem, now I have core download errors.......
Be more specific...
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Yup firewall problem, now I have core download errors, cannot extract core.......
Exit the client, delete the core files, run the client again.
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:16 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Finally, had to pull folder out of programs and run it from my desktop. It has been so long since I have run an SMP client I feel like a complete n00b. Thanks for all your help folks!
__________________
heatware

Last edited by stoanee; April 24, 2010 at 11:25 PM.
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 09:21 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Do you have UAC enabled? If so, that may be causing the problem (since it places restrictions on what can be done in the Program Files folder). Anyway, it's good that you've gotten it working from your desktop.
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 11:01 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Do you have UAC enabled?
Disabled. I googled around and it seems Vista and 7 can have issues with permissions when you try to run things inside of program files folder. Rather than trying to sort that out I moved the folder. The last time I ran an smp client I was using XP.
__________________
heatware
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 11:50 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Yea you're supposed to run Folding@Home off the root of say C drive.

With Windows Vista and onwards, you don't need to run DEINO. It's only good to run DEINO if you're using 32 bit and on Windows XP and shut down folding a lot. It's the only way to keep your work files saved, and even then it's only associated with the A1 cores. Soon, we won't need MPICH for A3 cores.
__________________
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 12:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
It's the only way to keep your work files saved
That is most certainly not true.
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 06:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Okay....
Thanks for the tip Zero. Anyway I wasn't getting any work for the DEINO client...
How do you remove an SMP client?
Uninstall DEINO>Delete the folder where you extracted ?
Thanks in advance.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with SMP Client Spikemaul HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 January 29, 2010 08:43 PM
Can't setup SMP client Lamb HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 December 10, 2009 03:04 PM
SMP client help phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 April 24, 2009 09:34 PM
Need help setting up SMP client Alwaysrun HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 February 8, 2009 06:47 PM
Hlpwith SMP client magictorch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 April 7, 2008 07:50 PM