Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 10:50 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Damned if I know how to do that............
I've added instructions on opening a command prompt with Administrator privileges to the guide under 4a.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 05:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Zero! Much better than the one on the Official page.
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 09:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Any chance of a DeinoMPI guide?
Thanks in advance. :D
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 10:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWanderer View Post
Any chance of a DeinoMPI guide?
Thanks in advance. :D
No. Use MPICH instead. DEINO is unsupported and is also incompatible with 64-bit versions of Windows.
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:11 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
"Open SCManager failed, Access is denied. failed to remove previous installation. Install failed. account (domain\user) [q6600\user]:"
When I right click on install bat and try run as administrator nothing happens. A screen flashes by and disappears. When I try to click on it again this is what I get.
__________________
heatware
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:17 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
When I right click on install bat and try run as administrator nothing happens. A screen flashes by and disappears. When I try to click on it again this is what I get.
Read 4a.
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:29 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Read 4a.

Doh...

Well now I get Unable to connect to Q6600 bla bla bla
sock error:generic socket failure. error stack
MPIDU_Sock_post_connect(1228): unable to connect to Q6600-PC on port 8676. exhausted all endpoints (errno -1)
MPIDU_Sock_post_connect(1228): unable to connect to Q6600-PC on port 8676. An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions (errno 10013)
press any key to continue...

It was never this difficult before............
__________________
heatware
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:41 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,632

My System Specs

Default

Reinstall and try again?

From my knowledge, port is usually associated with networking, so maybe Windows Firewall or some other firewall is blocking folding@home?
__________________
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:46 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you are using Windows Firewall, you should see a popup asking you if you want to make an exception for F@H. If you don't see it or accidentally clicked no, try turning off Windows Firewall altogether and see if the install process works. If you are behind a router, Windows Firewall is pretty much useless anyway.
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 11:47 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Reinstall and try again?
Done and done, no change.
__________________
heatware
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with SMP Client Spikemaul HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 January 29, 2010 09:43 PM
Can't setup SMP client Lamb HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 December 10, 2009 04:04 PM
SMP client help phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 April 24, 2009 10:34 PM
Need help setting up SMP client Alwaysrun HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 February 8, 2009 07:47 PM
Hlpwith SMP client magictorch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 April 7, 2008 08:50 PM