Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 03:37 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
hey zero what does that flag do?
It tells the client to treat the GPU as if it were an R700 generation chip.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
damn this is a dilemma for me lol, I've got a 5870 and a i7 so I've gotta keep it on 24/7 for -bigadv but I don't want to have my 5870 folding 24/7 at 5% efficiency or have it idling and guzzlin power while the i7 folds, but if I remove it and replace it with a 4650 I won't be able to game :( I can't keep switching back and forth either, just don't have the will to do that... so it's either folding or gaming for me. I wish stanford would hurry up with the ati support; if they did, they would see more WU's coming in
Why again can't you just fold on your CPU and GPU at the same time?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post
This flag tells this particular GPU2 client to use ATI folding binaries.
Not quite.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 03:51 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

dang I was hoping it'd boost the efficiency or something... I don't plan on folding on my 5870 because it's not nearly as efficient as it could be. That, and it dumps a helluvalotta heat into my room to the point where it's unbearable (as in I'm at risk of heat exchaustion sitting in my seat in the same room as my 5870 with the door/windows shut).
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 04:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
dang I was hoping it'd boost the efficiency or something...
Boost the efficiency of what?
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 07:19 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

ati cards have a lot more of these 'teraflop' thingies than nv had, so I'd assume they have more raw power, but stanford decided they want to support cuda instead of havok/opencl (or w/e ati is using right now), so ati cards fold much less than what they could be folding if the client was optimized for it. i.e. per watt, ati can produce much more ppd but isn't doing that right now, which is very unfair and why I'm not going to be folding until stanford makes it fair. I could be wrong though... these are based on my googling at EOC and others.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 07:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
ati cards have a lot more of these 'teraflop' thingies than nv had, so I'd assume they have more raw power, but stanford decided they want to support cuda instead of havok/opencl (or w/e ati is using right now), so ati cards fold much less than what they could be folding if the client was optimized for it. i.e. per watt, ati can produce much more ppd but isn't doing that right now, which is very unfair and why I'm not going to be folding until stanford makes it fair. I could be wrong though... these are based on my googling at EOC and others.
Your understanding of the situation is completely wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 07:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

From what I've "read", ATI deserves most of the blame.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 07:53 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Could you guys explain? I know that 1/5 ati's shaders are crippled and only 'look-good-on-paper', but I don't think that the folding client can't make any use of it at all =\ is it because ati keeps changing architecture or something?
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 07:58 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
ati cards have a lot more of these 'teraflop' thingies than nv had, so I'd assume they have more raw power, but stanford decided they want to support cuda instead of havok/opencl (or w/e ati is using right now), so ati cards fold much less than what they could be folding if the client was optimized for it. i.e. per watt, ati can produce much more ppd but isn't doing that right now, which is very unfair and why I'm not going to be folding until stanford makes it fair. I could be wrong though... these are based on my googling at EOC and others.
No. The nVidia architecture has better error checking (for the types of calculations done folding) and thus wastes less resources.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 08:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I don't feel like giving the whole big explanation, but it basically has nothing to do with bias and it's mostly because the F@H client is just not optimized properly for ATI's architecture.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
No. The nVidia architecture has better error checking (for the types of calculations done folding) and thus wastes less resources.
Not quite.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 08:29 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Ya know, Zero, that's rather maddening. Why not explain it once, rather than just tell everyone they're wrong. It'll save time in the end, especially if you happen to be right.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Koolance Releases GTX 470 & GTX 480 Full Coverage Waterblocks FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 April 9, 2010 08:34 PM
PNY Technologies Unveils GeForce GTX 470 & GTX 480 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 March 29, 2010 04:15 PM
EVGA Announces GeForce GTX 480 & 470 Graphics Cards FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 March 29, 2010 12:02 PM
NVIDIA Clarifies Official GTX 480 and GTX 470 Launch Date matsta31 Press Releases & Tech News 76 March 9, 2010 02:07 AM
NVIDIA's Next-Gen Parts Get Named: GTX 480 & GTX 470 SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 67 March 6, 2010 09:23 PM