Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:10 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default What would give me the most PPD ... and more

Hey guys,

Seems I trust you folders more and more and the "others" less and less but here goes.

What would give me more PPD, 2 x GT240 or a GTX260?

Also ... I have a NAS, but my plan is to move it downstairs and upgrade the board and CPU, heres the question. Which board CPU combo could give me a lot of SATA ports (6 or more) and that I could use to fold on 2 cores, fold on 1 or 2 GPUs, and run FreeNAS on a VM with the other core.

Thanks for suggestions guys! The cheaper the better!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:15 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure what the ppd for a GT240 is but i can tell you that a GTX260 overclocked can yield you 8-9k ppd and will use less power then 2 GT240s.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:26 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I'm not sure what the ppd for a GT240 is but i can tell you that a GTX260 overclocked can yield you 8-9k ppd and will use less power then 2 GT240s.

Sorry to have to correct you Arinoth but that is incorrect.

1) GT240's if you get the EVGA SC ones will net you 4.2-5.3 depending on WU(Estimated). I've run quite a few WU's through different GT's and they are decent, though not a lot of headroom they do have some play with their shaders.

2) GT's pull about 45-52W each. And I have yet to see a GTX260 Use less than 100W while folding. So in that regard I would opt for a pair of GT's over a GTX.

My thoughts and experiences.


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:29 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

Huh my bad then, for some reason i was thinking the GTX260s drew less power then 100W.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:43 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

No worries. Its why they have twin PCI-e Connectors. 125W each are capable of. So if it took less than 100 it would only need 1.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:46 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

max output for a gtx 260 should be more than 100 watts..i think around 130-140+depending on process voltages and clocks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:46 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

The GPU folding client requires 1 core from the CPU .... is it for one client or one per card? Or something else?

For my plan, a small quad AM3 with 2 cores to SMP, 1 to GPU and 1 to FreeNAS work?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:50 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

Thats a misconception actually, you dont need 1 core per gpu folding client. You can actually run multiple gpu clients on the same core (since it doesn't use as many cpu cycles as one would think). This is at least what i experienced when i folded with 2 gtx 260s, (when i had them locked to the same or had them choose whatever one they wanted)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yeah it doesnt take much cpu wise. trouble with amd chips is that they put out way less than intel ones ppd wise :(
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 05:54 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Thats a misconception actually, you dont need 1 core per gpu folding client. You can actually run multiple gpu clients on the same core (since it doesn't use as many cpu cycles as one would think). This is at least what i experienced when i folded with 2 gtx 260s, (when i had them locked to the same or had them choose whatever one they wanted)
In this you are Correct 100%. I ran 3 Clients without Any other things going and 1 core was hovering between 2-8% depending with the others idling.

It is still good though from experience to not overload it because you do need some CPU cycles and I found that limit when I was building my Trio of F@H Rigs.

ADay2Long I don't see a problem with what you want to do. Have the SMP on Idle Proceess only, the GT's on More, and then leave a core for your NAS and you should be okay so long as the last process doesn't become too demanding on your system resources.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First water setup for MM88 martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 93 June 15, 2010 06:32 PM
Let's give this another try.. Dr_BenD_over HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 February 24, 2010 06:30 AM
To give a gift Caldezar Off Topic 2 December 19, 2009 04:24 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 06:37 PM
So, any last ideas before I just give up? donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 34 February 26, 2009 10:54 AM