Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 05:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok, so 32 are nice clockers. good.

but what about qpi limitations? hows does that play against you?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 06:13 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

ok here more info on the QPI

on a single cpu, you have only a QPI link betwen teh cpu and the hub



on a dual QPI , you have also 1 QPI link betwen each CPU and the HUB, but a second one betwen the CPU

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 06:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,101

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Fiendo View Post
I'd finish my basement as well, after upgrading its electrical. Though the reason I'd upgrade the electrical is to help me place F@H computers without worrying about tripping breakers.

As for the SR-2, Movieman over at XS has a couple of X5680's in one and it yields him between 104-108k in WCG performance.

Look at the clock and the core voltage.

(Credit to Movieman)

It apparently only draws 685W from the wall.


FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP...
That voltage reading is definitely not correct.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 06:22 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Fiendo View Post

FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP...

I see what you did there...
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 06:31 PM
El_Fiendo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
That voltage reading is definitely not correct.
You're right, further on in the thread he lists:

"vcore is 1.4v,VTT is 1.35v, same at 4000 as at tested 4200 and 4400
Temps at 100% load at 4200= mid 60's, at 4000= mid 50's"

That's still very nice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
I see what you did there...
I can't be the only one with this kind of fetish.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 07:51 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

if it were 3.5k - i'd be the odd one here.

two boxes.
ASUS Z8NA-D6C mobo w/ 2x Xeon E5520s, w/ two Kingston 4gig Reg/ECC DDR3-1333 ram and a GTX 295.
And if money left over, watercool the works.

It may not be the fastest out there, but that's what i'd build - girlfriend does a lot of encoding with a bunch of 3d programs I don't pretend to understand.. and those would make things a lot quicker when you group render. :)

oh and edit - this would be stuff that I can buy today.. 480 not released.. dont even know if it folds well (I assume it will) and things like gulftown xeons aren't exactly reachable right now, not for 3.5k, lol.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:44 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

With an unlimited amount of coin I'd pay someone to get my damn boxes running 24/7, since its only been 1x Octo-gpu box and the occasional laptop folding for me, 1x octo-gpu box has always been down (they traded downtime) and that damn multi xeon system didnt boot when I finally had it all put together on water in the case. The money would go to someone elses time since I dont have any and cant keep the crap I have working :)
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:32 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

How about a good "green" electrical generating wind turbine to power my current rigs? ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:33 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
With an unlimited amount of coin I'd pay someone to get my damn boxes running 24/7, since its only been 1x Octo-gpu box and the occasional laptop folding for me, 1x octo-gpu box has always been down (they traded downtime) and that damn multi xeon system didnt boot when I finally had it all put together on water in the case. The money would go to someone elses time since I dont have any and cant keep the crap I have working :)
If you can afford it, it would be a good idea to put together a second box and split your GPUs between the two instead of running all 8 in the same machine. Not only would it mean less heat and power requirements to deal with in a single box, but also if one of the boxes goes down, you'll still have another one folding away until you can deal with it.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:35 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

I've got 8 gx2's in 2 boxes already..... thats my max, not looking for more, just need my xeons to be doing something other then depreciating and collecting dust :)
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plastic Money!! Eagle Eye Off Topic 54 March 12, 2010 06:00 PM
New Build, Issue with Vendetta 2 HS Tspot Troubleshooting 14 January 27, 2010 10:35 PM
Money for the summer m0pelley99 New Builds 5 July 20, 2009 01:37 PM
wasting money phantom_jo Off Topic 3 May 22, 2009 08:54 AM
Money For a Micro... TwystedMonkey Off Topic 1 May 25, 2008 08:33 PM