Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 05:26 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 530

My System Specs

Default

You're lucky. I got up to 2 Core I7 and one AMD Phenom II 965BE and the breaker went when Core I7 #3 was being added. Had to run power from the hot water heater :)

I did have 4 or 5 on one circuit before when I was only using Core2Quad's but I7 seems to use a wee bit more power

Darn unfinished basements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
Lots of facepalms here.

I started folding one of my computers for HWC, under 'Rison' - and just hooked up an older dell 9550 to fold under HWC this morning. Problem being, that 6th computer hooked up in my basement makes the breaker blow.. lol.

It's a 15A breaker, with 5x boxes going 24/7, and have my TV/Amp/Cable box in the same breaker.. my lights are on a separate breaker, so at least when the plugs go, I still have light to get at the fuse panel.

So no folding farm expansion today.. not til I get the cat6 ran upstairs this spring. I have two GPUs folding though, which isn't bad - a GTX 280 and 275.

Anyone else run into this problem, or is it just me?
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 07:10 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Update!

I put the two folding rigs in the garage, for a few reasons. I heat the garage in the winter with a space heater, seems fairly obvious to put them there. I can also upgrade the fans to larger deltas = better cooling, and the GX2's are pretty loud. Plus the entire power problem I've been having.

The two rigs are:
(1) i7 860 @ 3.5Ghz, w/ Asus P7P55D Pro, 8 gig Gskill 1600 Ripjaws. EVGA GTX 280 + EVGA 9800 GX2 (another GX2 on the way) - APC BackUPS XS 1300
(2) AMD Phenom 9950 BE @2.6Ghz (stock) 4 gig Gskill 1066. EVGA GTX260 SC Edition. - APC 1000VA UPS



__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 07:37 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Looks good. I wish I had a garage to put my rigs in...the heat is something, and will really be something this summer.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 09:46 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

nice. but i wouldnt necessarily have the exausts blow towards monitor and such :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i5 670 reached 7GHz. punk_zappa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 February 10, 2010 02:18 PM
Shaw limit Unknownm Off Topic 15 January 11, 2010 01:59 AM
Yay I've reached Top 100 Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 October 28, 2009 07:43 PM
How can I limit Bitlord...? Lamb Networking 21 April 24, 2009 06:59 PM
we have reached 300! belgolas HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 March 9, 2008 04:54 PM