Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 08:27 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default Clueless as to why SMP can't get new WU...

Waiting before retry.
[04:24:48] + Attempting to get work packet
[04:24:48] - Connecting to assignment server
[04:24:48] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[04:24:48] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[04:24:48] - Attempt #4 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.

That's all I get over and over again on my 4 VMs. Anything I can do to fix it? It's been like this for the last 3+ days....

Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 09:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Shut down the client, delete queue.dat, and try again. The servers are up, so it's either a glitch or some kind of connection problem on your end. Also, if you're using Windows Firewall, make sure it isn't blocking F@H.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 09:16 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

sorry for my noobness...where can i find the queue.dat file?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 09:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

In the directory that your F@H client is located in.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 09:28 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yeah, if a reboot or so doesnt help.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 10:46 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

This post by Prof. Pande on his blog might be a reason you are having trouble getting WU's;

Quote:
There have been some questions about the server status for Folding@home. The problem from the donor perspective is that the lack of WUs looks very similar to the servers being down -- the client reports it can't connect to the server. The servers have been up and in good shape since about Feb 25 (see the blog post on that day -- and that was just for the limited case of NVIDIA GPU servers, not FAH-wide). However, we have had a WU shortage now and again over the last week or so, which donors have mistaken as server reliability issues.
To fix this, we have been working to greatly increase the number of WUs, both for classic and SMP clients. There are a very large number of classic WUs that are coming out in new cores: the Protomol B4 core and the new Gromacs A4 core. B4 has rolled out and A4 is coming out in a week or so (maybe sooner). We also have new A3 SMP WUs in the pipeline. There have been some science issues that we have been working out on them.
Right now we are a bit too close, which leads to shortages for certain types of clients. My goal is to have way more WUs than we need so there are never any donor delays in getting WUs and we are pretty close to that, once the last few issues get worked out.
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 11:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,470

My System Specs

Default

Yep, same problem here on the one rig that's running a two core linux vmware. Probably going to switch that rig over to the new SMP2 client on my next days off now that I know the issues have been ironed out WRT playing nice in the sandbox with GPU clients.

I'm currently putting out somewhere around 6.5 - 7K PPD on my 955 @ 3.8 without any penalty to quad GPU client PPD so it appears that the initial glitches have been ironed out.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2010, 10:35 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yep, same problem here on the one rig that's running a two core linux vmware. Probably going to switch that rig over to the new SMP2 client on my next days off now that I know the issues have been ironed out WRT playing nice in the sandbox with GPU clients.

I'm currently putting out somewhere around 6.5 - 7K PPD on my 955 @ 3.8 without any penalty to quad GPU client PPD so it appears that the initial glitches have been ironed out.
Those issues have been gone since a few days after the SMP2 rollout when the 2.15 core was released to the public.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't setup SMP client Lamb HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 December 10, 2009 03:04 PM
Windows SMP; 1/2 PPD of What It Should geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 November 30, 2009 12:56 PM
SMP help Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 May 28, 2009 06:57 PM
SMP client help phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 April 24, 2009 09:34 PM
SMP rental grinder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 November 16, 2008 03:46 PM