Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 03:48 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default hardware dilema for my folding rigs

Ok I really got the folding bug and (also new hardware bug) so I'm now running a core i7 920 @ 4ghz (still on stock voltage... will maybe try more... but now I was testing it for folding). What I have to say is that the i7 is really impressive! (27500 ppd right now).

Ok here is my concern. I still have the Q6600 in my sig paired with a 9800 GX2. The thing I don't know... is where to put the GX2 to have the most PPD of my 2 system together. Other thing also is that the power supply that has the 6 pins and 8 pins plugs for the GX2 is right now on the core i7 system. I don't know if I want to put the GX2 on the core i7 system, because I will surelly lost a good amount of PPD running it 7 cores... but on the other side, if I put the GX2 with the Q6600 rig, I need a new powersupply (because the OCZ powerstream 520 didn't have the good connectors....

What do you think of this situation? My goal would be 40 000 PPD....

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 04:00 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

i'd buy a new power supply for the Q6600.

Of course, my goal too was 40k PPD, i'm currently around 60k PPD.. and have a new goal of 100k PPD.

see the trend? lol.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 04:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hmmmmmm i say sell the q6600 gx2 rig and either use that cash for something else or build a folder only i7. cheap but good case, giga board and 1156 hyperthreading xeon to match :)

or wait for the fermi thing?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 04:01 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

If your 520 watt has enough amps on the 12 volt rail to run the GX2, I would pair it up with your Q6600. You can always use adapters if your psu doesn't have the right connectors. 8 pin to 4 pin molex adapters are hard to find but a 6-pin will fit in the 8-pin connector. I've run cards using this setup without any issues, as long as the psu puts out enough juice.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 04:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Yeah the adapters are not an issue. many video cards will come with molex to PCI-E adapters. I would worry more about having a psu thats powerful enough.

The Addiction strikes again.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 04:15 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default

and do you think the ocz powerstream 520 have enough juice for a q6600 @ 3300 paired with a 9800 GX2??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 04:33 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charloz24 View Post
and do you think the ocz powerstream 520 have enough juice for a q6600 @ 3300 paired with a 9800 GX2??
I hate to say it mate, but you woundn't see me using an OCZ on that whatsoever. Sure in therory it has the juice to run it, but that I believe is an old FSP Platform and you'd give up the ghost fast if you were folding on it. Get a better PSU like a HX650 and you're set.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 05:20 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

old indeed, the 12v rail is weaker than you think. theyre nice and quietm but dont overload it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 09:03 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default

and how much ppd lost if I use my I7 on 7 cores instead of 8?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 09:15 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

you want to use your i7 on 7 core only to feed the GX2 ? No need, I currently run a i7 860 whit 2 Gx2 and runs bigadv on it on all 8 cores. All you need to do is use Bill's process manager and set the GPu cores at higher prirotiy.

To give you an idea, (eyeballing it, no math involved), On average I get about 25 000 PPD for the big adv (3.9 OC) and somewhere from 10 000 to 12 000 PPD per Gx2.

you are close to 40 K PPD if you put it all on the I7 rig. You may need to push some more voltage since the GPU + CPU running at 100% will add more stress.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGP dilema Natamanchuk CPU's and Motherboards 3 September 8, 2009 08:57 PM
General folding hardware questions.... Perineum HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 May 12, 2009 09:21 PM
Check Your Folding Rigs - New FahCore_14 Released LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 93 March 27, 2009 04:02 PM