Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 05:03 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default 9800 GX2 an Win 7 aaaaahhhhh

Cant seem to be able to start my second 9800 Gx2 gpu on win 7.... What I am trying to do is to get the dekstop to the second gpu, but it seem window 7 does not want to do it, because it can see another monitor.

I know the flags -gpu 0 and -gpu 1 becasue my shortcuts were working on XP. So, after looking around, I suppose I need a dummy plug ? or did I miss something ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 05:06 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

i can fold on bolt core of my gtx295 in win7 ultimate 64(without dummy plug), even on a 9800gt in the same rig without the dummy plug, i just can't say how i do it since i try thing over thing for hours and got it working by chance...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 05:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

refresh it, then when it detects 'empty monitors, reextend that. makesure you got a monitor(or the same on another cable) connected. with xp id set it up once and forget it. win 7? had to do it from time to time. a major pain..win 7 and folding arent very good frends.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 05:10 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,977

My System Specs

Default

You need a dummy plug or a monitor plugged in to each 'card'.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 05:38 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

yeah ok thanks, that I what I tought. So how tough is it to do a dummy plug ?

where could I find a dvi cable (I got to plug on my LCD) for cheap ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 06:31 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,977

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
yeah ok thanks, that I what I tought. So how tough is it to do a dummy plug ?

where could I find a dvi cable (I got to plug on my LCD) for cheap ?
Really easy.

The 30 Second Dummy Plug - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

I build 4 of them in like 2 minutes. And I made mine all pretty w/ heatshrink.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 06:40 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

lol yeah easy :) Thanks for the link !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 09:59 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

You might be able to get away without using the dummy plug if you just add -forcegpu nvidia_g80 to the second GPU client's options.

Apparently this works with the newer 195.xx ForceWare drivers (methinks). Try it and see if it happens.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 10:11 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,977

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post
You might be able to get away without using the dummy plug if you just add -forcegpu nvidia_g80 to the second GPU client's options.

Apparently this works with the newer 195.xx ForceWare drivers (methinks). Try it and see if it happens.
Not w/ the 9800GX2's. They are in a league of their own.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2010, 10:55 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you manage to get folding going left and right on windows 7 gpu and such, either you got lucky or spent a good couple afternoons working on the problem :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9800 GX2 overclock VS folding Charloz24 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 February 12, 2010 04:07 PM
trying to fold on the second gpu of my 9800 GX2 matsta31 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 February 9, 2010 06:05 PM
[WTB] BFG Tech 9800 GX2 surdanis Buy/Sell & Trade 8 December 5, 2008 08:11 PM
would one 9800 gx2 count as sli? triumph Video Cards 1 July 25, 2008 09:53 PM
9800 GX2 clock speeds and oc Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 15 March 5, 2008 10:53 AM