Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 06:33 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
2 of my machines have been acting up last couple days, when I get home from work, both machines have rebooted at some point during the day. Not sure what the problem is yet but they seem to work fine when I'm home... I've had machines "hang" on some WU's, rebooting usually resolves this. Can bad WU's cause a reboot? Both machines have been running flawlessly for about three weeks.
How are your Windows Updates configured? MS sent out some critical updates this week, and if your settings were set to automatic, then this may have been the cause.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 07:49 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
How are your Windows Updates configured? MS sent out some critical updates this week, and if your settings were set to automatic, then this may have been the cause.
That very well could be the problem, both machines were set on automatic. A third machine I have was also on automatic but it seems to be O.K. so far, it's running a different chipset than the other two so may have been unaffected by the updates. I just manually installed the set of updates on another machine... it seems O.K. too... so far anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 08:51 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

I am having a devil of a time getting my GTX 260's up to par in my AMD rig. I have tried different drivers, used Precision, RivaTuner, forced 3d settings, uninstalled the cards, reinstalled with different drivers, set all power settings to "full on" disabled screen saver, yad, yada. They were at one time working perfectly and for some reason they downclocked and I cannot get them back up. I am ready to start from scratch with a fresh install of XP. Any recommendations?....
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 09:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I am having a devil of a time getting my GTX 260's up to par in my AMD rig. I have tried different drivers, used Precision, RivaTuner, forced 3d settings, uninstalled the cards, reinstalled with different drivers, set all power settings to "full on" disabled screen saver, yad, yada. They were at one time working perfectly and for some reason they downclocked and I cannot get them back up. I am ready to start from scratch with a fresh install of XP. Any recommendations?....
save bios, mod bios, flash bios. keep a pci card or so handy. altough if you have dual pci-e the chances youll fox up both are quite dismal. had a big headache in w7, xp all the way on next build. no screwy put the vga cable on and re-extend desktop like in winder 7 :p. set it and forget it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 05:40 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

I am currently running that rig with XP. For some reason, which I have not yet discovered, it downclocked the cards. My Windows 7 rig is running like a champ.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 06:36 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I am currently running that rig with XP. For some reason, which I have not yet discovered, it downclocked the cards. My Windows 7 rig is running like a champ.

Turn off your Screen Saver, and put power management to never turn off your HDD , Monitor etc etc.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 06:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I am currently running that rig with XP. For some reason, which I have not yet discovered, it downclocked the cards. My Windows 7 rig is running like a champ.
Are the cards overclocked? What you're describing is what happens when the video drivers crash and then start up again. The cards are locked at their low-power 3D speeds until you reboot. This is usually caused by an unstable overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 01:42 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

All screensavers disabled, power to "always on" on everything, tried folding at stock speeds. My output has been cut in half. I am system restoring back to happier days, next stop.....reformat!!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 11:40 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Finally back in the race w/ one of my machines.

Too bad this eVGA Classified is a POS. Can't run worth a damn w/ 6 stick of ram. Having a hard time keeping it stable. And the bios sucks. Hopefully it does better on water.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2010, 06:24 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default

You started worrying me Lowfat.. I have a Classified on the mail and for 400$ I surely don't want a POS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All of Gods Creatures, Big or Small Soultribunal Off Topic 9 December 13, 2009 06:44 PM
Folding on Fermi: 200K PPD???? chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 30 October 14, 2009 04:43 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 05:37 PM
Question for SKYMTL !!!! (or other PSU gods) Delavan Power Supplies 21 February 6, 2009 03:17 AM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 September 5, 2007 04:03 PM