Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 03:34 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default Quick Operating System Question

Hey guys,

Quick question about Operating Systems for folding. Would I be able to run 32 bit WinXP Pro/Home with the Notfred (or whatever the other one is) VM and utilize all 8 cores of an i7?
I'm sure windows reporting on the CPU temp would only be the first processor (#0) - just wondering if I can run a base 32 bit OS (since I have a few legit copies lying around)

That, and I want to put 3x EVGA 260s in it. I'm guessing WinXP would handle that ok?

Thanks.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 03:37 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
Hey guys,

Quick question about Operating Systems for folding. Would I be able to run 32 bit WinXP Pro/Home with the Notfred (or whatever the other one is) VM and utilize all 8 cores of an i7?
I'm sure windows reporting on the CPU temp would only be the first processor (#0) - just wondering if I can run a base 32 bit OS (since I have a few legit copies lying around)

That, and I want to put 3x EVGA 260s in it. I'm guessing WinXP would handle that ok?

Thanks.
quick answer. you need 6 gb of memory... the 32 bits will not run it.

your 3 x 260 will give you 24k ppd , if you use smp2 a3 you gone get something like 10k more with a 920 ..but on smp 4 not 8 ( memory limitation ) Martin Metal report he can use a usb stick of 4 gb to add more memory, don't know if it work with XP , and we have not yet see his results
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 03:40 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

facepalm. right.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you install operating system to external hard drive. JORD4N O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 22, 2009 06:26 PM
Google Plans a PC Operating System Eldonko Press Releases & Tech News 5 July 8, 2009 12:34 PM
good operating system for HTPC? quikgp HTPC Systems & Software 9 April 28, 2009 01:10 PM
can't load an operating system help dubbaz Troubleshooting 5 February 3, 2009 05:42 PM
React Operating System Alpha release sswilson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 July 24, 2007 12:07 PM