Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:04 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default gtx295 and 9800gt in the same rig

Hi, im trying to add some ppd right now, but hit a wall

i can fold on bolt core of the gtx295 but can't get the 9800gt to fold at the same time...

all "3" gpu use the same driver(196.21)

maybe someone can help me?

Thanks
Phil
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Are you using dummy plugs?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:11 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

What OS Phil? Dummy plugs shouldn't be required unless you're using XP. Are you using this in your shortcut? "-gpu 2 -forcegpu nvidia_g80"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:21 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

thanks for your answer guys, no dummy plug but, win7 ultimate 64, and yes for the flag
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok, so there shouldnt be any restrictions active....but did you extend desktop? memory fails me on third gpu addition now :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
What OS Phil? Dummy plugs shouldn't be required unless you're using XP.
Actually, dummy plugs are not required under XP. They were only necessary under Vista and Windows 7, although not any more with newer drivers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Are you using this in your shortcut? "-gpu 2 -forcegpu nvidia_g80"
This, except it should be -gpu 3 since the GTX295 is a dual-GPU card.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:38 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Actually, dummy plugs are not required under XP. They were only necessary under Vista and Windows 7, although not any more with newer drivers.

This, except it should be -gpu 3 since the GTX295 is a dual-GPU card.
Correct. But except w/ dual GPU cards. You do often require the dummy plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:38 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

i got it running right now

with -gpu 2 flag since it's gpu0/1/2

but the problem si ppd, when the 9800gt fold, one of my 295 core drop to 3000ppd(drop form 7000ppd), and the 9800gt give me another 3000ppd
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:40 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Correct. But except w/ dual GPU cards. You do require the dummy plugs.

all 3 card fold right now without any dummy plug.. just get ppd problem
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 02:42 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
This, except it should be -gpu 3 since the GTX295 is a dual-GPU card.
Nope, the GPU count goes 0, 1, 2. I found that out the hard way.

@Phil, I think there's a lot of problems getting set up with multi-GPU cards. Maybe troll the folding forums? Folding Forum • Index page
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] EVGA GTX295 BT! Buy/Sell & Trade 22 March 8, 2010 02:26 PM
[FS] GTX295, Coolit FZe, TH2Go, 5870! Prices lowered! CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 109 December 26, 2009 08:09 PM
[FS] GTX295, Freezone Elites - Price drops! CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 55 October 29, 2009 05:23 AM
4 x GTX295 -working- fefox HardwareCanucks F@H Team 69 October 23, 2009 12:57 AM
[WTB] EVGA GTX295 Liu Kang Buy/Sell & Trade 7 July 3, 2009 07:29 AM