Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 11:52 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Too much money for this guy though.
We don't have to worry about money - we hid our wallets as per the thread's title already.

"Sure, I'll spend a hundred kajillion dollars on this thing! Now, where's my wallet..."
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:06 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

ecc ram ? or not ? man this is going to be pricey
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:07 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

but I have memorized my bank info. how is hiding my wallet going to help?
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:11 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
ecc ram ? or not ? man this is going to be pricey
unless you want to score high bench, it's not worth for folding. But man.... how much I want one..... even if it's not a ROG board..
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:12 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
ecc ram ? or not ? man this is going to be pricey
I wouldnt risk it without ECC...12 cores on 2 cpu's...Last thing I want is a WU to go bad from memory issues. I mean think of the bandwith in use folding on 24 threads, plus a RAM drive...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:23 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

We should start a 6/49 group buy ...... I can see few of Us at the lottery Office take a Winner group picture with each of us holding this board in our hand ( I just give more ammo for Dt and his Nuts things)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:26 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
We should start a 6/49 group buy ...... I can see few of Us at the lottery Office take a Winner group picture with each of us holding this board in our hand ( I just give more ammo for Dt and his Nuts things)
Yes send your money to MarkOne.... He'll make sure to use it for lotto tickets and to let you know if they win
__________________
CoreX5 @ Team 37412
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:27 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

It doesn't have to be ECC. The Xeon IMCs can take run-of-the-mill unregistered, unbuffered dimms too. Keep in mind that JEDEC spec for DDR3 only goes as high as 1333 MHz - so those seeking high clock speeds will likely need to go the regular consumer RAM route.

So many of us already use machines with 8GB and 12GB of unregistered RAM. The risk difference between that and this is probably a lot smaller than you'd think.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 12:38 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoreX5 View Post
Yes send your money to MarkOne.... He'll make sure to use it for lotto tickets and to let you know if they win
Lotto quebec have a rule.. we have to give a list of the participating members . and aside what you want I do with $ 10 if I collect 5 guy ...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Quick Upgrades AmuseMe New Builds 3 June 21, 2009 07:18 PM
quick quick can we do 4 gtx 285 sli? hohohee Video Cards 7 June 7, 2009 10:14 PM
Quick Question /b/ derrXIII Video Cards 2 August 12, 2008 02:55 PM
quick question... omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 July 22, 2008 05:31 PM
Quick question Nodscene Power Supplies 2 July 7, 2008 11:27 AM