Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2010, 02:06 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895

My System Specs

Default Server 2008 R2

I guess folding on NVIDIA GPUs is a bit broken in Server 2008 R2?

Mine seems to do a few WUs then starts throwing out errors non-stop, eventually leading me to a 24h wait time. Worked fine in Server 2003 R2 SP2 though.

Unless it's driver related? I'm using the latest Windows 7 x64 196.21.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2010, 06:40 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895

My System Specs

Default

I think it was Remote Desktop related. Switched to RealVNC instead.

However I have another question, is there any way I can tweak the settings so it doesn't lag down the system? Like window rendering is far slower compared to when it's not folding.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 09:05 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 538

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I think it was Remote Desktop related. Switched to RealVNC instead.

However I have another question, is there any way I can tweak the settings so it doesn't lag down the system? Like window rendering is far slower compared to when it's not folding.
You can try adding the FAH_GPU_IDLE enviro-variable and see if that improves things. It's similar to the CPU meter in the systray client, but apparently it tries to restrict GPU load to a target. It will reduce your PPD in some way, but it's not necessarily related to the value you put in there.

Ie. you put in the enviro-variable of FAH_GPU_IDLE = 15 and it won't mean that your PPD will reduce by 15%, it just means that the GPU client will target a 15% idle time.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 07:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, I'll give that a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 11:57 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 208

My System Specs

Default

And you're correct on the Remote Desktop issue. I see the same thing when I connect using Remote Desktop.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Server 2008, as my main OS. decivox O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 March 3, 2009 07:15 AM
Best and worst PC games of 2008 Alwaysrun Gaming 29 December 3, 2008 04:11 PM
Server 2008 as a Workstation :) lcdguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 July 30, 2008 03:46 PM
Lansomnia 2008 cdn_Madrach Canadian LAN Parties & Events 6 June 8, 2008 07:36 AM
GDDR5 coming Q2 2008? Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 December 3, 2007 08:42 PM