Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
You mean the regular client or the high performance SMP client. I already have the regular client installed on all my machines.
Windows XP/2003/Vista/2008 SMP client console version 6.29 beta for MPICH (32-bit or 64-bit)

This one
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Hrmmmmm.... that's a big reason why I prefer to run vmware.... that allows me to limit cores to 2. I suppose I could always just run an XP vm (gotta love those technet keys.... ;) ).
Running a VM is pointless. Just use an affinity changer program to take care of it, and avoid the overhead.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I suppose. I've been running process lasso on my other rig to control cores for VM + Boinc. I guess this would be no different.

Also suppose I should send of my cc info for the folks who wrote it..... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 07:01 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

It's nice to finally get decent ppd out of my quads, which WU's the gpu's have can make a big difference though.

My Q9550 dropped from ~9300ppd with 2x 1888pts WU's to ~8500ppd with 1x 1888 and 1x 783pts.

Also the p6013's aren't quite as good as the p6012's.

Certainly a big improvement over the A1 core though...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 07:02 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Windows XP/2003/Vista/2008 SMP client console version 6.29 beta for MPICH (32-bit or 64-bit)

This one
O.K. thanks. I'll give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 08:02 PM
El_Fiendo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I didn't realize I didn't have the -advmethods flag enabled on my Q8200 SMP client

Went from 1900 ppd to 6700 ppd.

VM or Windows client? Also, was -advmethods set in the client config on startup, or do you have it as an argument in the shortcut (if running the Windows client)?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 08:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Fiendo View Post
Also, was -advmethods set in the client config on startup, or do you have it as an argument in the shortcut (if running the Windows client)?
It doesn't matter which way you do that.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 08:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Fiendo View Post
VM or Windows client? Also, was -advmethods set in the client config on startup, or do you have it as an argument in the shortcut (if running the Windows client)?
Windows. I just added an argument to a shortcut.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 08:11 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

what is bether, this or bigadv for i7?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 08:16 PM
El_Fiendo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
It doesn't matter which way you do that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Windows. I just added an argument to a shortcut.
Thanks guys!

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil3_66666 View Post
what is bether, this or bigadv for i7?
-bigadv is better for i7's.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Points System for SMP2 WU geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 46 February 1, 2010 12:07 PM
SMP2 Core Progress Update - Some Will Have Bonus Plan LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 85 December 15, 2009 01:33 PM
Upcoming I5 Build Bucklaz New Builds 9 September 24, 2009 12:44 PM
New upcoming build HaDeS New Builds 8 September 16, 2009 06:43 AM
8 Intel cores faster than 16 AMD cores? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 0 May 24, 2007 06:54 AM