Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 10:41 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
My Q9550 was doing about 8200PPD with no other usage last time I checked.
Is that using the Windows client or the Linux client in a VM? I was going to hold off on trying WinSMP again until MPI had been completely removed from the equation. Using the LinuxSMP under VMware on my Q9650 at 3.8GHz, I'm getting 7400PPD on project 6015 according to HFM.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 01:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Is that using the Windows client or the Linux client in a VM? I was going to hold off on trying WinSMP again until MPI had been completely removed from the equation. Using the LinuxSMP under VMware on my Q9650 at 3.8GHz, I'm getting 7400PPD on project 6015 according to HFM.
I'm running the Windows client. I had the same concern as you, but it seems that as long as you have the -advmethods flag enabled, you'll be sent only A3 units. The plan is to phase out the A1 and A2 cores as soon as possible, so I don't think you'll have to worry about having to deal with MPI.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 05:04 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I just re-downloaded the win32 smp client and set -advmethods flag. I'm running a Q9650 @ stock 3Ghz. The nofreds VM was doing 5200 PPD, the new A3 core is doing 7032 PPD after about 30 minutes.

Happy-Happy-Joy-Joy.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 05:52 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,957

My System Specs

Default

I didn't realize I didn't have the -advmethods flag enabled on my Q8200 SMP client

Went from 1900 ppd to 6700 ppd.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:04 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Guess it's time to install my quads, was a bit leery of doing the vmware thing (seemed complicated). It is a big deal to set up the SMP client? Where can I find a good guide to do this? Which client is the best for XP 32-bit?

Last edited by boggtrotter59; January 25, 2010 at 06:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:22 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,957

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
Guess it's time to install my quads, was a bit leery of doing the vmware thing (seemed complicated). It is a big deal to set up the SMP client? Where can I find a good guide to do this? Which client is the best for XP 32-bit?
It is the easiest client to setup. Download. Create shortcut. Add the -smp -advmethods flags. Then you are done.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:26 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Working on my second GPU farm's OC atm so that I can start taking advantage of this.... is there a way to set the # of cores the windows smp client uses? (been a hell of a long time since I ran it).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
is there a way to set the # of cores the windows smp client uses? (been a hell of a long time since I ran it).
Not as far as I know. If you want to limit it to a certain number of cores, use an affinity changer program like Bill2's Process Manager, Prifinity, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Hrmmmmm.... that's a big reason why I prefer to run vmware.... that allows me to limit cores to 2. I suppose I could always just run an XP vm (gotta love those technet keys.... ;) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2010, 06:43 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
It is the easiest client to setup. Download. Create shortcut. Add the -smp -advmethods flags. Then you are done.
You mean the regular client or the high performance SMP client. I already have the regular client installed on all my machines.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Points System for SMP2 WU geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 46 February 1, 2010 12:07 PM
SMP2 Core Progress Update - Some Will Have Bonus Plan LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 85 December 15, 2009 01:33 PM
Upcoming I5 Build Bucklaz New Builds 9 September 24, 2009 12:44 PM
New upcoming build HaDeS New Builds 8 September 16, 2009 06:43 AM
8 Intel cores faster than 16 AMD cores? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 0 May 24, 2007 06:54 AM