Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 08:20 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

i tried this, it find 2 core but give my this message
Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 102
Size:  45.5 KB
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 08:21 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil3_66666 View Post
i tried this, it find 2 core but give my this message
Attachment 8977
go in to the SMP client folder and run the install.bat see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 08:49 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

got it running thanks

will let you know how many ppd it give
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 09:30 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default

Someone has a clue if it would be worth the hassle changing a vmware folding (doing 1800 ppd on a athlon II X2 215 stock) to the windows SMP2 client?
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 10:06 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charloz24 View Post
Someone has a clue if it would be worth the hassle changing a vmware folding (doing 1800 ppd on a athlon II X2 215 stock) to the windows SMP2 client?
i just make the change 1h ago, th vm was running at 2300ppd, the smp2 at 1700, so right now i say no, not for athlon2.. but i will let it run to get another WU, maybe the p6013 i got is bad.. i will let you know
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 10:15 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil3_66666 View Post
i just make the change 1h ago, th vm was running at 2300ppd, the smp2 at 1700, so right now i say no, not for athlon2.. but i will let it run to get another WU, maybe the p6013 i got is bad.. i will let you know
Are you including the bonus in your calculations? I'm going to make the change soon and will probably have to install HFM.NET since FahMon doesn't calculate the bonus.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 10:25 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Last night I spent a lot of time testing the new WUs out on dual core and quad core hardware from both AMD and Intel, comparing results of the new SMP client for Windows and the A3 core versus the previous SMP client for Linux under VMware and the A2 core. And I feel like I've seen enough to say this:

- Both AMD and Intel quads, but especially Intel quads are faster with the new SMP client and A3 cores.

- i7 processors with HT are faster with the new SMP client and A3 cores when compared to regular SMP projects, but bigadv projects (which still use the A2 core) continue to outperform the new client and core.

- Both AMD and Intel dual cores are slower with the new SMP client and A3 cores. They are not fast enough to earn enough of a bonus. As a result (for the timebeing at least), dual core users should stick with their current configurations.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 10:30 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
- i7 processors with HT are faster with the new SMP client and A3 cores when compared to regular SMP projects, but bigadv projects (which still use the A2 core) continue to outperform the new client and core.

- Both AMD and Intel dual cores are slower with the new SMP client and A3 cores. They are not fast enough to earn enough of a bonus. As a result (for the timebeing at least), dual core users should stick with their current configurations.
Awesome post.

Are there plans for bigadv users to get the A3 core? Perhaps a performance increase is in the works there too if the TPF is better (or is there just a bigger bonus for quad users on the A3)?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 10:49 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Yes - Kasson has instructed Bigadv folders to update their clients (hence the new FredNotFred and dev version of LinuxRouter's appliance). That can only mean that A3 is coming to Bigadv at some point.

Here's the thing though. As I understand it, A3 behaves similarly on both Windows and Linux. So, if Bigadv will soon be migrated to A3, then one might speculate that Bigadv will also be available on the new Windows SMP client. And since a native installation will always outperform a virtualized one, we could be in for some big time numbers from Bigadv.

Nothing official has been announced yet, though, and the concept of Bigadv running on the Windows SMP client is purely speculation.

I'd love it to be true though, 'cuz then I could actually use the four PCIe slots on Leviathan! (once it comes back from RMA. sadface.)
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 10:59 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
then one might speculate that Bigadv will also be available on the new Windows SMP client. And since a native installation will always outperform a virtualized one, we could be in for some big time numbers from Bigadv.

Nothing official has been announced yet, though, and the concept of Bigadv running on the Windows SMP client is purely speculation.
)


Hopefully this comes sooner than later.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMP2 Core Progress Update - Some Will Have Bonus Plan LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 85 December 15, 2009 01:33 PM
Points today Arinoth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 43 November 22, 2009 01:34 PM
Which would get me the most points fastest? Airshehan HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 August 30, 2009 11:46 AM
Where did all my points go? Nodscene Off Topic 11 November 26, 2008 09:40 AM
getting the most points from the clients vinister HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 July 27, 2008 10:31 PM