Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2010, 11:26 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default Weird GPU usage?

Just wondering if anybody else has noticed this........




This is the EVGA Precision screen for the 4 9600GSO farm.....

The 99% usage is a 353 on a gromacs gpuv2 core, the ones that are all over the board are all 1888 WUs using the GPU NV MT core.... At first I thought maybe the GPUs were throttling due to heat, or that I has having the old "drop down to 2D" problems from earlier days, but FAHmon is reporting typical PPD for 1888 WUs.

Has this been happening all the time with 1888 WUs and I just never noticed it before?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 12:05 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

weird indeed. so if the ppd is 'normal', then its either a reporting issue or that happens and we havent actually got off the lazy boy and checked..yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 12:54 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

I have a feeling that it's just the way that particular core does it's calculations... maybe it does most of the work on the shaders? Dunno... just thought it was an interesting observation, and would appreciate it if folks could check their own rigs to see if they report the same kind of behaviour. (Have to use GPU-Z for cards which have proper temp sensors as Precision will report temps instead of usage if it's available).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 01:01 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

I think that's normal, that would also explain the beeping I hear from the video cards while folding those WUs... also why I am not folding right now
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 02:05 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

That's normal for 472 and 1888 pt. WU's, they cycle to keep the GPU from overheating. Many cards, including mine, give a sort high pitched coil whine every 3 seconds or so as it kicks up to max usage. I can tell when my cards have one of these WU's as soon as I come down into the man cave.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 03:51 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Yeah, I get the same issue. And everything looks normal.

And I do get the same high pitched sound !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 07:16 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

It's normal. Some people have managed to run 2 GPU clients on a single GPU when they're folding the 472 and 1888 points WU, though Stanford is against this. Anyone want to give that a try?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 08:19 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
It's normal. Some people have managed to run 2 GPU clients on a single GPU when they're folding the 472 and 1888 points WU, though Stanford is against this. Anyone want to give that a try?

that sounds like ole p4 hyperthreading nono's :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 08:20 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

It seems normal to me as i've seen certain work units keep the usage at a very steady high while others are saw toothing between 2 values.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 09:51 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
that sounds like ole p4 hyperthreading nono's :)
Running two standard clients on P4s with HT got you the best PPD from those CPUs back in the day. I wouldn't recommend running two GPU clients on the same core though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low GPU usage Lamb HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 January 9, 2010 08:32 PM
Accurate Usage lcdguy Power Supplies 6 October 29, 2009 04:54 PM
Weird noise coming from GPU Kilauea Troubleshooting 8 September 30, 2009 05:27 AM
CPU usage with GPU client paused... somecanadianguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 July 22, 2009 02:24 PM
pf usage under windows xp.. omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 4, 2009 11:23 AM