Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 05:44 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default Installing a second GPU

Ok my other GPU are out for delivery, so I will need to install them tonight. I read the instuction but I have a question about this part

" When Windows ask to look for a driver hit CANCEL. If you let Windows install the driver automatically, there is a big risk of having sub-par performances or client issues. "


I use exactly the same card. so I suppose windows will not ask me for driver right ?. did I need to know something else about this driver istalation ?

thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 06:42 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
Ok my other GPU are out for delivery, so I will need to install them tonight. I read the instuction but I have a question about this part

" When Windows ask to look for a driver hit CANCEL. If you let Windows install the driver automatically, there is a big risk of having sub-par performances or client issues. "


I use exactly the same card. so I suppose windows will not ask me for driver right ?. did I need to know something else about this driver istalation ?

thanks
When you install the second card and reboot Windows should detect New Hardware and search for the drivers automatically. Since they should be there from the first card you should not need to install new ones.

The caution you highlighted above is mostly for gpus that come with older drivers on their installation disks...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 06:47 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Just install the second card and windows will automatically install the drivers for you. Works fine this way, at least in Windows XP which is what I am running.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 06:50 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Thanks. will double my PPD tonight if everything go well , this one run on XP too
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 01:28 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

it's running. the only problem they are running both at 6700PPD each , before with only 1 I have over 8000PPD, I will see latter . may be not the same work
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 01:32 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, PPD rates can vary pretty significantly from WU to WU. That's probably all it is a reflection of, so nothing to worry about. But definitely worth checking out to make sure that is, in fact, the case.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 01:33 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

so i understand you are still folding? if yes glad to have you in the team
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 01:44 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Ya, I think all the night ( 2 night ago) about it , I don't like to play game and I like build PC, so no choice . they have to do something. so I still continue to add a GPU a week, this week I put 2 , New Egg don't have anymore the MSI gtx 260, so I order an asus 250 from an other place, it's folding at 4900 ppd in my Windows Home Server ( every PC have to be use ) next week I will go for a 260 216 for try , it's getting hot in upper garage, 19'C , will have to open a window.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 01:49 PM
RONEDOGG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dartmouth Nova Scotia
Posts: 122

My System Specs

Default

when i add a second gpu i always clean up the old. first i uninstall any gpu related drivers and soft ware. second i shut down pc and put in the second card. then i start back up and install drivers fresh for both cards. to avoid any conflicts at all.
__________________
Get off my lawn boy
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2010, 01:55 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RONEDOGG View Post
when i add a second gpu i always clean up the old. first i uninstall any gpu related drivers and soft ware. second i shut down pc and put in the second card. then i start back up and install drivers fresh for both cards. to avoid any conflicts at all.
Yeah - I'm with you on that one RONEDOGG.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing a Ek Water Blocks EK-FC4890 CF Nickel Full Cover Radeon HD 4890 GPU Block bc_tileguy Water Cooling 7 July 7, 2009 03:59 PM
Installing a new waterblock shayan288 Water Cooling 20 March 19, 2009 02:17 PM
installing OS Jim Guides & How-to's 6 January 29, 2009 12:52 PM
installing a motherboard Defiant CPU's and Motherboards 8 December 17, 2008 12:38 PM
help installing heatsink Zippoh Air Cooling 26 December 9, 2008 08:36 PM