Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 03:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

dude 15k ppd is great. hell even 5k ppd on a lowly cheapo 8800gt is very fine.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 03:37 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
I have to go for a service call, just before I want to say , than yesterday I close my shop at 1:15 to come home to check why I was giving point to an other team, today I do the same again to see if my Rid was getting the works, I can't use my PC anymore because of the lag, so I see it as a growing problem, and before I stop everyone in the house to use their PC , I think I have to stop this thing right now. I have never smoke, or drink, now I spent $ 1200 a week in GPU . . it's became very serious. But I understand that I have to control my self instead of avoiding it. I will think about if 15k PPD is ok with me .

Sorry for the comment. you are a good team
A lot of us at one point or another stop and wonder what we've gotten ourselves into, it's easy to get caught up in the pull of Folding. I've gone through the same thing myself, the trick is learning to pace yourself.

Whatever you decide to do is good, Thanks for Folding...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 03:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Almost all the servers are back up.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 03:54 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Don't know what all the fuss is about... Shit happens...
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 03:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

lol...stuff happens
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 04:05 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Sorry... how about doodoo happens...
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 04:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
Sorry... how about doodoo happens...
lol. better
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 04:41 PM
badatcards's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia ont
Posts: 858

My System Specs

Default

Other than my GPU getting 548 point WUs, My PC GPU and CPU (1 VMware client running at 50%) are fine. But I checked my PS3 around noon and it is said " Could not connect to server" and now after 6pm its still the same, It still signs me in to the PS3 network, So I dont think it my internet. Looking at the Team Default User name PS3 their points are still coming in but their points have dropped a bit in the last 24h.
I think our F@H contests overload their servers, The last contest their was a server mess up to, Or was it the contest before. So many F@H contest its hard to keep track.
Dont get discouraged, Shit happens. I would think Stanford is working as hard as they can to fix it because their the one's who are really missing out.
EDIT: A day and a half a go I took my PS3 from the living room where it was wired to the internet to my room and wired it to the internet but I used a old cable so I thought I would try hooking it up wireless and it found the server. Weird because it did say Signed in when it was wired. OH Well, Shit happens, Now.... Back to Folding
__________________

Last edited by badatcards; January 19, 2010 at 04:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 04:56 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default Update

Prof. Pande has updated his blog;

Quote:
UPDATE: 3pm Pacific Time
It took a long time for the server room in the Computer Science Building to come back on line, but it's back now. We are checking out the servers and restarting binaries to serve FAH WUs. Looks like this is basically over. Due to redundancy in our use of server rooms on campus, most of FAH was up even while the whole University was in the dark, so while this outage was non-ideal, luckily most of FAH was working during the outage.
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 05:28 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

im curious upon their generator/backup systems :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , folding , stanford , work unit

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RIM Experiences Massive Outage: Most BlackBerry Customers Affected SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 17 December 17, 2009 10:40 AM
Problem after power outage... Rausch Troubleshooting 5 October 27, 2009 08:58 PM
VMware error after power outage... somecanadianguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 October 5, 2009 07:50 PM
kelowna power outage bissa Off Topic 5 August 14, 2009 03:54 PM
Stanford professor proposes a gaming canon Babrbarossa Gaming 1 March 26, 2007 09:59 AM