Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 11:17 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_M View Post
Others on the Stanford site are reporting the same. It seems you should consider yourself lucky to even get that as the Nvidia WUs are the only ones going out consistently.
All of our GPU units here are nVidia and they have ALL been waiting for work more than 6 hours now. None of my SMP clients are having any problems at all...... yet.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 11:26 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_M View Post
I wish Pande Group would be a bit more respectful of what we do and take the time to keep us informed instead of providing either no info or BS spin when there are problems.
Excellent point. Stanford doesn't seem to realize what kind of money people are spending on doing their work, especially now. And this is the return for it?? I'll bet that more than a few leave, including old-timers, never to return. They beter be thinking about it very hard.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 01:13 AM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Good news - GPU servers appear to be working again at about midnight Mountain time. All 9 of the completed GPU jobs I had in the queue have uploaded, fetched new ones, and rolling right along I still see some evidense of SMP being behind the curve so kep an eye on that. I think it will be quite some time until GPU stats are caught up though, due to the backload of GPU uploads very likely pending. We may next see a rash of can't get fresh GPU job errors.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 04:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Interesting. My bigadv folding rig (using Linuxrouter's vm) that has been folding bigadvs for ages just picked up a regular wu (project 2662...1920pts according to HFM).

This vm has not been reset or anything.....
Normal. If no bigadv WUs are available, then the server will send an advmethods WU. And if those are not available a regular WU will be sent.

Don't know if the outage is related, but I lost a bigadv WU at 22:00 , 100% completion last night... can't see the log, says it's corrupted.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 09:27 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Normal. If no bigadv WUs are available, then the server will send an advmethods WU. And if those are not available a regular WU will be sent.

Don't know if the outage is related, but I lost a bigadv WU at 22:00 , 100% completion last night... can't see the log, says it's corrupted.
Ouch. Do you have the backup script set up? I'm trying to set it up but stuck at this step...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 11:48 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwm View Post
Good news - GPU servers appear to be working again at about midnight Mountain time. All 9 of the completed GPU jobs I had in the queue have uploaded, fetched new ones, and rolling right along I still see some evidense of SMP being behind the curve so kep an eye on that. I think it will be quite some time until GPU stats are caught up though, due to the backload of GPU uploads very likely pending. We may next see a rash of can't get fresh GPU job errors.
Forget about that potential problem. Never materialized. Even regular -advmethods workunits are flowing in and out smoothly.

Now if I can figure out what you guys are talking about with this "big advanced" or whatever it is, maybe hubby and I can squeeze a bit more out of these ancient quads and GPU boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 01:24 PM
J_M's Avatar
J_M J_M is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burnaby (Vancouver)
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.CSM View Post
Now if I can figure out what you guys are talking about with this "big advanced" or whatever it is, maybe hubby and I can squeeze a bit more out of these ancient quads and GPU boxes.
-bigadv WUs award bonus points (worth 55k +) but they require a fast i7 with lots of memory to process.
__________________
It was on fire when I got here.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 02:10 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,104

My System Specs

Default

Are people still having a problem w/ getting a bigadv?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 08:09 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Picked-up one finally yesterday afternoon.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 11:15 AM
JayDeeHobbit's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 388

My System Specs

Default

I'm getting the "attempting to get work packet" message for the nvidia GPU console client. Are others still getting it?

The reason I'm wondering is because I just installed Win7 last night and I'm not sure if I am using the wrong client or if it just Stanford.
__________________
"Try looking into that place where you dare not look!
You'll find me there, staring out at you!" - Frank Herbert
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes