Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2007, 05:11 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I think I've got more than just that as issues with the test bed install.... :(

Got another virtual memory message just now, and went in to manually set it fairly high to see if that'll fix it up. Looks like I've got some form of memory leak since I installed the VM. :(

I'm thinking there's an OS re-install in my near future..... :(
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2007, 05:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Looks like it was the freaking windoze java auto-updater (jusched.exe)!!!!

Freaking thing was eating up cycles and page files like there was no tommorrow!!!!!!!!!!

50 freaking% CPU all on its own without appearing to do anything!!!!!!!
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; October 5, 2007 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2007, 06:30 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

That Java update has happened to one of my rigs too. I let it run for about 30 minutes with no sign of update completion, then shut down the process. Next time I booted up, the update went fine.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2007, 06:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
That Java update has happened to one of my rigs too. I let it run for about 30 minutes with no sign of update completion, then shut down the process. Next time I booted up, the update went fine.
I just uninstalled java...... :)

If I come across something that actually needs it I'll re-install it......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2007, 03:52 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,717

My System Specs

Default

[wasteoftime]
Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I just uninstalled java...... :)
YAY! /me hugs sswilson.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If I come across something that actually needs it I'll re-install it......
/me starts chanting "Kill java!".
/me ponders chanting "Kill flash!" as well.
[/waste of time]
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 03:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Here's a question for those a lot more knowledgable than I.....

Once a VM has been created using VMWare server, is there any benefit to running it under VMPlayer rather than continuing on with the server?

Just a wild guess, but I'd think that the player would use up less resources and in a case like folding where that's the only task being carried out I'd think that it would be a better choice.

Thoughts? Ideas? Actual experience? :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 07:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Downloaded it; in order to install the player, you need to un-install the server first. So I did just that on my lappy. I'll come back later after completing the install.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 08:54 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

I just completed the install; everything runs like it should, start-up time is quite fast: about 5 seconds. But the downside is the Ram usage: twice as high as the Server. I don't know why, and that's compared with my 2 other folding rigs too.

Verdict: if the server is already installed, it's not worth it. But if you have a .vmx file of a VMwared Linux distro, it then becomes the quick and easy way of duplicating Linux anywhere.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 08:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I just completed the install; everything runs like it should, start-up time is quite fast: about 5 seconds. But the downside is the Ram usage: twice as high as the Server. I don't know why, and that's compared with my 2 other folding rigs too.

Verdict: if the server is already installed, it's not worth it. But if you have a .vmx file of a VMwared Linux distro, it then becomes the quick and easy way of duplicating Linux anywhere.
That's wierd.... there must be a setting for that somewhere......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2007, 06:41 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's wierd.... there must be a setting for that somewhere......
It's not the dedicated Ram for the Linux side (which is still adjustable), it's the necessary Ram required for VMPlayer alone that is twice as high as VMServer.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Who is using linux? Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 34 February 1, 2008 03:31 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM
Linux status. Mysteryous Video Cards 1 September 10, 2007 08:02 AM
Linux first to crash :( Shadowed O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 10, 2007 07:01 AM