Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 10:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

I gave it a good 24hrs+ and I was lucky to get 5200 PPD for 353s with my 2x GTS 250s (on same board). And that was for both. Meanwhile I have a 9800GTX+ (by itself) folding on my wife's rig and the PPD for 353s was 6630.

But then a funny thing happened. I installed Boinc/Rosetta and now the PPD for my GTS 250s is now 6630 just like the 9800GTX+. Go figure.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 10:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... that's pretty bizarre.... wonder if it was a priority/affinity issue that ended up being re-assigned once you installed boinc?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 10:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh.... that's pretty bizarre.... wonder if it was a priority/affinity issue that ended up being re-assigned once you installed boinc?
Even though I know that folding with nvidia cards barely uses CPU time compared to ATI cards, I waited to install Boinc cause I wanted to see what kind of PPD I'd get just folding and not touching priority/affinity.

So I install Boinc and PPD goes back to normal.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 11:11 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
Even though I know that folding with nvidia cards barely uses CPU time compared to ATI cards, I waited to install Boinc cause I wanted to see what kind of PPD I'd get just folding and not touching priority/affinity.

So I install Boinc and PPD goes back to normal.
Did you check to make sure you changed the priority from idle to low on All the gpu clients when doing the config, it can be an easy thing to miss. If you missed one of them it might give those results.

Boinc will normally drop it's own priority when other DC clients are also installed...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 11:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
Did you check to make sure you changed the priority from idle to low on All the gpu clients when doing the config, it can be an easy thing to miss. If you missed one of them it might give those results.

Boinc will normally drop it's own priority when other DC clients are also installed...

F@H

- Core Priority I checked "Slightly higher...."
- CPU Usage Percent I put it at 100%
- Priority at High in Windows Taks Manager

These settings don't seem to be affecting Boinc as Poem and Rosetta are flying (30min elapsed-30% progress)
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 11:55 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
F@H

- Core Priority I checked "Slightly higher...."
- CPU Usage Percent I put it at 100%
- Priority at High in Windows Taks Manager

These settings don't seem to be affecting Boinc as Poem and Rosetta are flying (30min elapsed-30% progress)
Not sure what it could have been then.

Boinc has always played nice with my gpu's so I've never bothered adjusting the priority in task manager, it's something Stanford could learn from.

Ever thought of Crunching for Us...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 05:33 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
Not sure what it could have been then.

Boinc has always played nice with my gpu's so I've never bothered adjusting the priority in task manager, it's something Stanford could learn from.

Ever thought of Crunching for Us...
Just might. I have 2x 955BE, wife's E6850 and son's E5300.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 10:06 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
Just might. I have 2x 955BE, wife's E6850 and son's E5300.
It would be great if you did, our smaller Teams certainly could use the help.

There is lots to choose from; Rosetta, Poem, Seti and WCG...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 12:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

I just installed a 240 GT and none of the monitoring programs seem to work with this GPU yet. Unless I'm missing a step.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 12:02 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Did you "extend" the desktop?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help setting VM Folding doup93 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 April 27, 2009 05:27 AM
little help setting up please marcons HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 April 17, 2009 11:56 AM
Need help setting up my raid. sheepdogexpress CPU's and Motherboards 9 March 27, 2009 10:50 AM
Fatal1ty setting Computergeek Audio 2 July 3, 2008 06:04 PM
Best setting for E6600 Digital_Fortress Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 April 23, 2008 10:44 PM