Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 05:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,639

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil3_66666 View Post
because it's i7 860..

again to be sure, so 9gb is needed for folding + ramdrive?

but i can still do bigadv without ramdrive right?

quesque je ferai sen charlie pour réponde a tout mes question stupide sur le folding
No, you need a minimum of 6gb per rig for folding the bigadv + ramdrive. You sure can fold without ramdrive too.
Et tu reussirais quand meme, sans moi.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamb View Post
I put my GPU clients on it worked purrrrfectly ;)

took ~1 minute to setup lol...

Maybe someday I'll buy a 2nd kit of dominators...who knows

Merci pour la trouvaille
Ca me fait plaisir.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 05:27 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

If you decide against the bigadv, and decide to do vmware cpu folding.......

What I do with a quad (I prefer leaving 1 core open, even with nvidia cards.... I've seen as high as 15% with 4 cards, and it leaves some room for other PC functions) is fold a 2 core vmware smp, and then dedicate the 3'rd core to rosetta with boinc.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 06:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
1. with ATI, you need 1 core for the folding GPU. With Nvidia, you can fold on 4 Cores and adjust the affinity and priority to allow folding on CPU and GPU
2. Vmware Notfred can fold on 2 cores, or 4 cores if I'm not mistaken.
1. Using the environment variables outlined here will significantly reduce the CPU usage of the ATI GPU client allowing CPU folding to be run across all cores: Folding Forum • View topic - Environmental Variables for the developing drivers

2. notfred's can run on up to 8 cores (a limitation of VMWare), including three. All that you need to do is edit the numvcpus variable in the .vmx file using a plain-text editor like Notepad.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
GPU client 100% cpu core utilization? hd4200 folding? 0o0 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 December 21, 2009 03:53 PM
Folding@home Core Shutdown: CORE_OUTDATED fefox HardwareCanucks F@H Team 10 September 22, 2009 04:37 AM
One core in GTX 295 is folding slower than the other. netforce HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 April 14, 2009 03:21 PM
Free PPD - New GPU core update v.1.15 LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 November 3, 2008 12:16 AM