Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 01:06 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Ok I think I catch up everything! I will let it pass 10X normal WU's before to do it again only to be sure.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 01:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
We're you using just 1 client folding on all 7-8 cores for that month? If it was 2 clients or if you didn't have the smp 7 (or 8) flags it doesn't count. It essentially needs to get 10 completed regular work units in within 4 days in order for you to get the bonus, which is only possible on 7-8 cores (depending on the OC) not 2 vmware clients folding at the same time.
I don't think that is correct. I never used more VMware w/ more than 2 cores per client. before the bigadv. I still get my bonuses.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 01:31 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
WTF...En corp love me, you want to kiss Charlie.. on a l'air d'une belle gagne de ...... ( We look like a bunch off. )
... de moumounes?

Back on topic. You can have as many VMs to fold the 10 WUs, but you have to use the -advmethods flag. Once the 10 WUs are folded, you replace the -advmethods flag by the -bigadv flag.

-smp 7 or 8, it don't matter.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 01:48 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Just a slightly OT question. I try to fallow here, is this 7-8 refer to the treads ? , you count the 4 hyper treading, ? with the virtual client, you not suppose to use 1 client per 2 real cores ?

Last edited by MarkOne; January 11, 2010 at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 01:48 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

If you already folded 10 A2 WU (doesn't matter when or client) with the passkey, then you can go fold the -bigadv WU.

Also download the latest image, maybe even the one that's currently in development, and configure the client using the web. I found it much easier to configure and really simple to do.

@Mark. On Core i7 with HT enabled, there's 4 cores and 8 threads. Reason be is because HT creates 2 threads in one core.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 01:49 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

Yes it refers to the threads, 4 logical, 4 hyper threading = 8 threads.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 02:06 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I must have not ask properly,( I guess I know that a I7 have 4 hyper treading. ) it's just than usually we count only the core not the tread, it's funny for me I will have thing than folding will work better with hyper treading disable .... in the time of the old PIV, If I remember well encoding was faster with hyper disable. May be it's just my memory who is getting not better than my eyes
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 03:19 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
... de moumounes?

Back on topic. You can have as many VMs to fold the 10 WUs, but you have to use the -advmethods flag. Once the 10 WUs are folded, you replace the -advmethods flag by the -bigadv flag.

-smp 7 or 8, it don't matter.
-advmethods is the thing I had in the shortcut right? but using VM there is no shortcut???I don't know if it's because I'm french or because I don't know enough about folding and setting VM and thing like that but all the setting thread for -bigadv and most of what you are telling to me here I don't really understand. What is the -advmethods flag and where do I ad it???
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 04:06 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

The Vm you are probably talking about (in which you cannot add any flag) is the notfred vm. You need the specific linux client which allows for bigadv WUs, which also uses VMware Player.

For bigadv WUs, follow this great guide (use V0.6): VMware 3.0 && bigadv folding

Start with the -advmethods flag for 10 WUs WITH a passkey, then replace the flag with -bigadv.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 04:45 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
The Vm you are probably talking about (in which you cannot add any flag) is the notfred vm. You need the specific linux client which allows for bigadv WUs, which also uses VMware Player.

For bigadv WUs, follow this great guide (use V0.6): VMware 3.0 && bigadv folding

Start with the -advmethods flag for 10 WUs WITH a passkey, then replace the flag with -bigadv.
This guide is the one I used to set my VM but I still not understand what is the -advmethods there is no place in the guide where it talk about it. When you open the VM it offer you to enter

Username : fah
Password : fah1234
key : the thing stanfort provide

then enter in the root thing : .fah6 -smp 8 or .fah6 -bigadv -smp 7 or 8

then set all prefered setting am I right?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting FAH martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 September 28, 2009 08:16 PM
Need help setting VM Folding doup93 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 April 27, 2009 05:27 AM
little help setting up please marcons HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 April 17, 2009 11:56 AM
Need help setting up my raid. sheepdogexpress CPU's and Motherboards 9 March 27, 2009 10:50 AM
Best setting for E6600 Digital_Fortress Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 April 23, 2008 10:44 PM