Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 05:40 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
From nvidia site, each GTS 250 draws a max of 150W.

4x 150W = 600W..

500 is enough?

I too am going to say 850W. 750W being borderline. 500? Nope! Not for me...
The TDP numbers given by ATI and nVidia for their video cards are generally quite conservative. With that said, 500W would not be enough for a system like this to run comfortably, if even at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Putting a PSU that close to its Peak Output is asking for trouble no matter what.
It would be the PSU's continuous output rating, not its peak rating (good PSUs are rated based on continuous, not peak output). But you are correct. Running a PSU outside of its peak efficiency zone (generally 40-60% load, although most good PSUs can be run up to 80% or so without difficulty) will result in lower efficiency, higher temperatures, worse performance, and a shortened lifespan.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 05:51 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,060

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
The TDP numbers given by ATI and nVidia for their video cards are generally quite conservative. With that said, 500W would not be enough for a system like this to run comfortably, if even at all.

It would be the PSU's continuous output rating, not its peak rating (good PSUs are rated based on continuous, not peak output). But you are correct. Running a PSU outside of its peak efficiency zone (generally 40-60% load, although most good PSUs can be run up to 80% or so without difficulty) will result in lower efficiency, higher temperatures, worse performance, and a shortened lifespan.

I am going on what would be peak for a 500W Zero, or most peak anyways. My Silverstone for example is rated for a continuous output of 750W with a peak of 800W. I was saying if by some chance that setup worked it would be right at the peak output of a said good quality 500W supply.

Hence my suggestion for the Silverstone Strider Plus.

REgards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 05:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

I think it's also worth mentioning that this is for a folding rig that will be running full tilt 24/7.

Even the continuous rating on a quality (realistically rated) PSU can't be expected to reflect 24/7 non-stop operation at 80%+ of it's rated output. I'm currently looking at my 750W silencer and wondering if I should upgrade it for the 4X 9800GT cards. (It's not running hot, but it is running warm).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 05:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'm currently looking at my 750W silencer and wondering if I should upgrade it for the 4X 9800GT cards.
Nope, it's plenty. I know people who have run three and four 9800GX2s off of TX750s.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 06:01 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,060

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I think it's also worth mentioning that this is for a folding rig that will be running full tilt 24/7.

Even the continuous rating on a quality (realistically rated) PSU can't be expected to reflect 24/7 non-stop operation at 80%+ of it's rated output. I'm currently looking at my 750W silencer and wondering if I should upgrade it for the 4X 9800GT cards. (It's not running hot, but it is running warm).

3.0 CHarlie Ran 4 GX2's off of his 910 Silencer. You are okay, I would only worry if you had 4 x First Gen 9800GTX+ because those were power hungry. The GT's are not.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 06:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Nope, it's plenty. I know people who have run three and four 9800GX2s off of TX750s.
4 gx2's? hmm..i know it can do the watts, but the amps...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 06:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
4 gx2's? hmm..i know it can do the watts, but the amps...
Watts and amps are two sides of the same coin as far as we're concerned here.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 06:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

was actually wondering about the numbers. each gx2 does something like..hmm...


9800 GX2_____________########¦)#¦]##########}| 69W-83W-182W ²
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 06:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
was actually wondering about the numbers. each gx2 does something like..hmm...


9800 GX2_____________########¦)#¦]##########}| 69W-83W-182W ²
We've already established that the power numbers from that link you are using are not at all reliable.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 06:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
We've already established that the power numbers from that link you are using are not at all reliable.

show me some numbers then. what is your pc with 3 gx2's pulling at the wall?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unsure of power needed for next gen upgrade dinmaster Power Supplies 10 November 10, 2009 01:16 PM
[WTB] Power supplies needed yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 24, 2009 12:35 PM
1KW Power Supply Needed.... mlauzon Power Supplies 11 December 23, 2008 04:48 PM