Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 07:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default how does one sneak..err..i mean install

folding on linux (ubuntu) again? bro's 3 giger c2d runs empty handed so i thought i'd give it a go on there too...:) something that desnt require babysitting, the way charlie puts it. something like i set up on remote machines vs charging the guy for assembling the pc...like timeless wus...but the install linux on it comes first :p


associated smilies "
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 08:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Folding@home - LinSMPGuide
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 08:17 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

dankishen. the service part should be the most interesting. good thing i added an earthwatts in there.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 08:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Keep in mind that installing/running a FAH client on a machine without the expressed consent of the owner is strictly forbidden by the FAH TOS, and can result in your account being suspended.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 09:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Keep in mind that installing/running a FAH client on a machine without the expressed consent of the owner is strictly forbidden by the FAH TOS, and can result in your account being suspended.
thread title is there for a reason..i.e. draw attention . he knows. i tried once, but the client never started..i think because he had 32bit os. now hes in 64 bit so it should work. *crosses fingers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 09:47 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

I don't see that as much different than the fact that both my sons and their families fold SMP under XP-64 on machines I built for them. Their copies of winderz are registered to them, their copies of SMP are individual and in their usernames and are their own initials, I don't get credit for their work. I believe that's the whole basic idea behind it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 10:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwm View Post
I don't see that as much different than the fact that both my sons and their families fold SMP under XP-64 on machines I built for them. Their copies of winderz are registered to them, their copies of SMP are individual and in their usernames and are their own initials, I don't get credit for their work. I believe that's the whole basic idea behind it.
So long as they know it's running. The main point to the TOS on this subject is so that they don't "discover" that FAH is taking up resources (processing + hydro) without their knowledge, and thus equate FAH with a virus.

This was the whole point behind the problems with that team (don't remember the name offhand) which was banned earlier this year.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 10:37 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yeah those guys literally sneaked fah onto a bunch of puters...right? bastuges! :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 11:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
yeah those guys literally sneaked fah onto a bunch of puters...right? bastuges! :)
No, they included the F@H installer with warez releases and told people to run the client in their names.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-Fi Bravura 7.1 Sneak Peak Robscix Audio 2 September 17, 2009 11:04 AM
Rampage II Extreme and GTX 295 CMOS ERR netforce Troubleshooting 9 January 22, 2009 04:30 PM
Err, DirectCanada forgot some of my items. jaszypoo Off Topic 9 December 17, 2008 07:09 PM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM