Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 08:51 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Like I said, I fixed the problem by rebooting the machine. And I use EVGA Precision to overclock my cards and monitor their temperatures and frequencies.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 03:32 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Go figure,

The three gpu's that have the -advmethods removed are getting almost all 548's while the other four that still have the -advmethods flag are getting 353 and 1888 point WU's.

If you don't like the new WU's maybe try putting the flag back on, Good Luck...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 04:00 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

I don't mind the 548's , they would'nt be issueing them if they were not worth further investigation.

They are definitely hot loads tho.

I manually set my fans . With any other WU's all gpu's are below 65c. (65% fan ).

The 548's drove my 285 to 79c.......the 260 is up 8 degrees , my 8800 is up 11c.......

79 c , while hot , is no problem really , to my knowledge all 200 series chips are rated 105c .

----

I've bumped the 285 to 86% fan.......running at 71c.....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 05:36 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,052

My System Specs

Default

Woot! These were the first WU's to break the 90degree mark on my GX2 hehehehe. Ah well that card doesn't mind the heat at all really. Its been rock stable for WU's since I got it, minus when the servers jam up and slow it down.

I've got damn good airflow in that computer too.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 06:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The real beef I have with these units is that I had to drop the shaders on my 9600GSO by over 300MHz just to run the damn things.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 09:19 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
The real beef I have with these units is that I had to drop the shaders on my 9600GSO by over 300MHz just to run the damn things.
Try deleting the core and download a new one. Just saw this post from Pande's blog:
Quote:
GPU2 core auto-upgrade planned for Monday Jan 4, 2010

Happy New Year! We're starting out the new year with a planned auto-core upgrade for GPU core 11. This is planned to happen Monday morning Stanford time. This will bring the GPU core to version 1.31, which has many improvements. In particular, this core is very helpful with the new P10101 WUs. If you'd like to upgrade sooner, you can always do a manual core upgrade at any time by deleting your GPU core (or perhaps safer -- renaming the file so you can revert back if you want).
However, such manual core upgrades are just for FAH experts. The FAH client software will do all of this for you if you like, by the auto-upgrade mechanism built-in on Monday.
It's also worth mentioning that we have made good progress with the GPU3 core and that should be rolling out of beta to production early in 2010.



They rolled out this new core early it seem to deal with issues people have been reporting here:
Folding Forum • View topic - P10101
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 09:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Try deleting the core and download a new one. Just saw this post from Pande's blog:


They rolled out this new core early it seem to deal with issues people have been reporting here:
Folding Forum • View topic - P10101
That would be nice, except for the fact that I've been running the 1.31 core for over a month (it's required in order to fold on G92 and GT200 GPUs in the same system). It's also been the core that gets downloaded with each new client installation for a while now.
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 10:10 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Yup same stuff they have been shipping out for awhile, now they are just forcing it on everyone.

Nice of them to let us know by posting at 7:30pm (10:30pm EST) on a saturday night...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , folding , p10101 , wu's

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
first time with nvidia.... nvidia or ati? hohohee Video Cards 27 April 27, 2009 08:49 PM
Going from ATI to Nvidia crazyhorsejohnny Video Cards 7 April 14, 2009 10:03 AM
ATI vs Nvidia Computergeek Video Cards 20 July 4, 2008 11:34 AM
Nvidia or ATI Witwikki Video Cards 11 February 6, 2008 05:38 PM
ati vs Nvidia Rapid-X Video Cards 14 January 26, 2008 10:22 AM