Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 08:43 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Thanks!

So I wait until I completed 10 WU's and then I replace the flags.

How do I actually edit the flag with the console version? It's quite easy with the tray versions, simply go into configuration and voilą.

Do I simply go into the client console and type the line ./fah6 -bigadv -smp 7 or do I delete the client and remake one from the scratch in the VMware player? or...

EDIT : seems to work so far!
EDIT 2 : HOLY , just passed the 3% and the PPD appeared 7644.61!!! that's more than 3 times what my ol' 4 standard tray clients would do, it was worth the bump to 3.6ghz Temps are a little higher, but nothing I'll worry about for now. Can't wait to add that 2nd GTX285 down the road and hope everything is stable ^_^
Attached Images
   

Last edited by Lamb; December 9, 2009 at 08:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 08:54 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Yup just re-start the client and enter the commands. No need to delete anything. Make sure you follow the part of the guide where you configure the web service...this is where you place the passkey that will be emailed to you.

Don't worry about sounding like a noob...this folding stuff has a language of its own. The next thing you know, you will be spouting stuff like 'OC your shaders and use bigadv for maximum PPD and pray you avoid 511s, especially if you have a vmware client competing for cycles or you may eue on your WUs and give up f@h for good'
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 08:58 PM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Yup just re-start the client and enter the commands. No need to delete anything. Make sure you follow the part of the guide where you configure the web service...this is where you place the passkey that will be emailed to you.
Ok thanks I'll bookmark this thread to make sure I remember everything heh

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Don't worry about sounding like a noob...this folding stuff has a language of its own. The next thing you know, you will be spouting stuff like 'OC your shaders and use bigadv for maximum PPD and pray you avoid 511s, especially if you have a vmware client competing for cycles or you may eue on your WUs and give up f@h for good'
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 05:55 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I couldn't help earlier. I have no idea how the -bigadv client works since I have dual core PCs.

Have you considered temporarily running multiple VMware clients so you can finish the 10 WU requirement sooner?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 06:00 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Sorry I couldn't help earlier. I have no idea how the -bigadv client works since I have dual core PCs.

Have you considered temporarily running multiple VMware clients so you can finish the 10 WU requirement sooner?
Nope I haven't thought about it, but I think I'll leave it where it's at for not, works great as it is
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 08:40 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Have you considered temporarily running multiple VMware clients so you can finish the 10 WU requirement sooner?
That would actually be worse. The single client will finish workunits faster in series than multiple VMs would finish them in parallel.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 01:48 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
That would actually be worse. The single client will finish workunits faster in series than multiple VMs would finish them in parallel.
The requirement is 10 A2 WU completed with passkey I believe.

Quote:
Bonus point requirements

1) At least 10 Core A2 work units must be completed. (1920 or 25403 pt units qualify)
2) At least 80% of Core A2 work units must be completed in time.
3) A passkey must be used.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 03:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
The requirement is 10 A2 WU completed with passkey I believe.
You're missing the point. If he were to run two 4-core VMs or four 2-core VMs on his PC instead of one 8-core VMs, although he'd be running more units at the same time, it would take him more time overall to complete ten workunits than it would if he just used a single 8-core VM and let them finish one after another.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMP client help phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 April 24, 2009 09:34 PM
Need help setting up SMP client Alwaysrun HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 February 8, 2009 06:47 PM
Goodbye SMP client ! BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 November 2, 2008 04:17 PM
SMP client errored BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 October 9, 2008 05:50 PM
Hlpwith SMP client magictorch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 April 7, 2008 07:50 PM