Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 03:38 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default Stow GTX280?

One my folding GPU's seams to be putting out quite irregular PPD, its an OEM GTX280 running at 602Core/1107Mem/1400Shader. Its folding client is set to high priority locked to Core4 (With the rest of the GPU clients), Vmware is locked to Core1-3.

The PPD on this card seams to be only slightly higher then the 8800GT on average that is not overclocked, and much lower then a 260 216sp that is factory overclocked at 655/1050/1408.

Here is a picture of fahmon, I have let this run for about two days and the results seam to stay about the same.

Running 191.07 for drivers.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 03:47 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

open up cpuz graphics tab or everest see what speeds its actually running at. also set -forceasm
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 03:49 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

I have confirmed in GPU-Z, and EVGA precision that the gpu is running at 99% load and the correct speeds.

What change would adding -forceasm make?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 04:03 PM
Draex's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

I enabled -forceasm on the GTX280's client only over the last 6% the PPD has not changed. Should I delete the work unit and download another one to see the change if any?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 04:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

see what ppd that same EXACT wu does on other cards just to be sure. ive hit some crappers myself but its kinda too low.

forceasm will force it to go full bore and ignore any previous issues or stopage or so. bad if it keeps crapping out, good if its stable
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 04:35 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

I would. Can make a big difference, though I couldn't find a driver that really worked well on mine. I bought a GTX285 and returned it because of flaky behavior and its performance over the 260/216 SE wasn't very exciting either. Not for the cost difference anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 04:42 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

I've had some bogus 787 pt WU's the last couple of days myself. It'll work through them.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 05:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Project : 5792
Core : GPUv2 Gromacs
Frames : 100
Credit : 787


-- gpu1 --

Min. Time / Frame : 2mn 58s - 3820.04 ppd
Avg. Time / Frame : 2mn 58s - 3820.04 ppd
No Cur. Time / Frame
No R3F. Time / Frame
No Eff. Time / Frame

i think tahts from my ole 9600. probably oc'ed.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 07:28 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
Project : 5792
Core : GPUv2 Gromacs
Frames : 100
Credit : 787


-- gpu1 --

Min. Time / Frame : 2mn 58s - 3820.04 ppd
Avg. Time / Frame : 2mn 58s - 3820.04 ppd
No Cur. Time / Frame
No R3F. Time / Frame
No Eff. Time / Frame

i think tahts from my ole 9600. probably oc'ed.
I don't know if that's normal or not for your cards but my 260/216's pull an average uf ~7500 PPD on p5792's.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 07:32 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I've had some bogus 787 pt WU's the last couple of days myself. It'll work through them.
+1
Day before yesterday I had one chug chug the whole way through it. Checked everything till I was blue in the face, all normal. Next WU was a 5791 and it ran perfectly normal. Sounds like just a few bad ones leaked through QC.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX280 - RivaTuner. Gellidius Troubleshooting 5 November 11, 2009 06:55 AM
[WTB] GTX280 CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 6 August 21, 2009 05:16 AM
[WTB] Bfg gtx280 oc Frank Booth Buy/Sell & Trade 12 April 19, 2009 09:59 PM
GTX280 not powering up GregH Troubleshooting 17 February 4, 2009 01:39 PM
powering my GTX280 biff Video Cards 4 January 14, 2009 06:42 AM