Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 04:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default Woke up to EUE, but pleasantly surprised

This morning I woke up and got a EUE on my GPU (HD4890), I proceeded to delete the proper files to restart it, however, when I looked at my PPD, they had actually gone up from when I get a 511 WU and were about the same as when I get a 384 WU.

So, my CPU alone yields more PPD than my GPU alone and is a little better than my GPU and CPU combined. This brings me back to my usual problem of priority where I can never seem to get the most out of my hardware by setting priorities.

For now, I let it run on CPU folding alone and I will see when I get back home where the folding is and then decide if I should use less power by letting the GPU idling. Unless, of course, someone has another suggestion
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 04:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Heh... were did you get your PPD #s from? There were some "extra" points over night from the ones that didn't register a few weeks ago.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 04:35 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I got my PPD from Fah Spy, so they can't have been from those "extra" points, but I did notice I got a few of those points back.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 07:09 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Did you follow this guide to reduce the CPU usage of your ATI GPU client? GUIDE: ATI Client - Lower CPU % + Raise PPD - [H]ard|Forum
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 09:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Did you follow this guide to reduce the CPU usage of your ATI GPU client? GUIDE: ATI Client - Lower CPU % + Raise PPD - [H]ard|Forum
I have done that, but I must say I haven't noticed a big difference. I believe my max PPD went down after. I did not use the version of Catalyst they suggested, I had a more recent version(not sure if that was the problem).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 11:03 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

More recent versions should still work fine. You might see a small PPD difference but you should also see CPU usage from the client go down to a few percent of a core rather than an entire core. If you aren't seeing the decrease in CPU usage, then something wasn't done right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 11:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Its too bad 4890s don't produce more PPD. They can be had a good prices now.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 11:56 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
Its too bad 4890s don't produce more PPD. They can be had a good prices now.
That should change when the new GPU client hits. Although not sure how long before that's around...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 02:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
That should change when the new GPU client hits.
That might change, but I wouldn't count on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EUE limit exceeded problem Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 September 30, 2009 03:25 PM
EUE's punk_zappa HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 May 18, 2009 07:33 AM
FAH "Unstable Machine" EUE limit etc... chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 November 5, 2008 03:56 PM
EUE problem - G8800 GTX, 177.92 drivers and 6.2 GPU client Dwayne HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 September 7, 2008 08:40 AM
Woke up this Morning....... Supergrover Display Units 12 April 18, 2007 12:42 PM