Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 06:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default About CPU folding

I've got a question. Today when I loaded NFS:Shift, I shut down the GPU folding but kept CPU folding. I played the game for at least an hour and noticed maximum 3 slow downs, so I am not too bothered by that. However, when I left the game, I immediatly went to check how it affect my folding and the effect was not apparent (aside from the GPU folding being stopped).

Now, I hardly believe that NFS would not use any of my CPU power. On a regular basis my CPU is not running at 100% because I only have 1 instance of SMP running, running 2 doesn't increase PPD, it just maxes out my CPU usage.

I must be doing something wrong somewhere. Can anyone enlighten me ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 06:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

What exactly is your setup for CPU folding? Which clients are you using and how many cores are they running on?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 06:31 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I am using VMware player, when I check it out, it says found 2 processors. It says SMP instance per 8 CPU, but I tried per 2 and 4 and it makes no difference. Btw its for F@H.

Not sure what other info you may want.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 06:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Which version of VMWare Player are you using? With the new 3.0 version you can change the number of CPUs of your VM to 4 by editing the .vmx file with a text editor, and that will basically double your points production. I suspect that because you're only folding on half your CPU, the other two cores were plenty for NFS to take advantage of without needing the resources that were being used by the VM. However, if you were actually folding on all four cores, you'd probably see a hit in either PPD or game performance depending on how you set the priority of the VM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I'm using the 3.0 version, how would I go and eding the .vmx file ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Just open it up in Notepad and change numvcpus to 4.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:38 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

+1. And make sure your setting inside notfred's is 1 instance per 4 CPU's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

But which file is it exactly ?

notfred is the thing where I type an IP adress, right ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:41 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

the folding.vmx file, and yes.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Alright, I found it... Now the part where I am always unsure, will this restart my WU if I apply it now ?

Edit: well it is working and it has not restarted my WU... now to see the difference.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU folding question Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 October 20, 2009 09:01 PM
CPU folding martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 September 26, 2009 01:33 PM
CPU folding problem Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 September 24, 2009 02:21 PM
CPU Folding DenisS HardwareCanucks F@H Team 29 September 9, 2009 08:35 PM
CPU folding BT! HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 December 2, 2008 10:20 PM