Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 03:29 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,755

My System Specs

Default FAHMon to monitor other computer's folding?

I was just wondering if it was possible to monitor my PPD and such in FAHMon on my main computer (Windows 7 x64), while the 9600GT is folding in another rig on my network. (Windows Vista x32). In screenshots I've seen, people have had multiple rigs and whatnot, so I'd assume it is possible.If it was possible, would it look something like this to put into FAHMon as the location?
\\192.168.1.147\C\Users\Home\AppData\Roaming\Foldi ng@home-gpu\
I attempted setting the whole C drive as a shared folder on the Vista rig, and my Windows 7 rig can see that folder as being shared. I can't seem to get into it though, says I don't have permission to do it. Workgroup name is the same, password protection is off, file and printer sharing is on.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 04:18 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

I should work, thats what im doing as well, make sure you have the folding folder shared and just do :

\\COMPUTER\sharedfolder\

in the fahmon LOCATION box when setting up your client.

the only thing I did different was JUST share the folding folder itself..

try Mounting that share as a folder on your fahmon machine, if you can do that then for sure fahmon can see it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 04:40 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Sharing under vista and win7 seems to be a bit of an art form. I do it.... but I don't know if I could walk you through it at this point.... I seem to relearn it everytime myself.

Anything on your LAN is monitorable. I'd like an add on for FAHMON that allowed you to monitor non-local machines as well....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 05:50 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,755

My System Specs

Default

Thanks both of you. I could never get sharing to work before, even Vista - Vista. Looks like sharing just the GPU F@H folder worked. 4k PPD on a 353 seem right for an overclocked 9600GT? (1850 on the shaders)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 10:06 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpfan4ever View Post
4k PPD on a 353 seem right for an overclocked 9600GT? (1850 on the shaders)
Yep, looks right to me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set up HFM.NET and FahMon to monitor Folding@home progress. Now with videos. chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 132 November 2, 2012 06:07 PM
Folding with SLI enabled and no dummy plug/second monitor! chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 57 April 29, 2010 02:31 PM
Fahmon Glitch need advice. fefox HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 September 10, 2009 05:21 PM
cant get fahmon to work. kyle_L HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 April 23, 2009 07:46 PM
FAHMon and F@H set up reccomendations CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 36 February 22, 2009 04:57 PM