Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 10:24 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default Prifinitty 2 Advice

Hey all. In prifinitty 2, what do i set for my GPUs?

Im running 2 x 260s right now. and an i7 with HT off, so 4 cores.

Do i set them to normal? Do i set both cores to use all 4 cores of the CPU?

Thanks
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 07:23 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Well you want the gpu to have higher priority then cpu folding. So i put the cpu folding to low, and gpu to below normal. Set the gpu clients to use all cores, and make sure you check "do not lock cores to a specific cpu" So they can pick up cpu time from wherever they need it.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 12:18 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I agree with everything odis172 has said above, except that at the very least I would leave the gpu to "normal". I always run my GPU clients at "above" and it did me fine in the 4 hours of borderlands I played last night.

Normally this machine will get about 11K just sitting here. While playing borderlands I still get 6K

Anyway, everyone says that the VM should be low, and the controversy is on what to set the GPU client.... I've tried all the settings and "above" gave me a bit more PPD than "normal" but anything higher than "above" didn't do a thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prifinitty help! odis172 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 10 November 8, 2009 06:27 PM
Profanity over Prifinitty! kruzn4evr HardwareCanucks F@H Team 20 September 10, 2009 08:12 PM
Need WC advice.... Digikid Water Cooling 5 May 19, 2009 04:40 AM
Need a little advice here? norfolk Troubleshooting 10 December 14, 2008 11:32 AM
need advice Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 7 January 30, 2008 03:15 PM