Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 09:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buck Nasty View Post
No, you have to have a single slot on the bottom. Here is my CM590 in the same scenario. BTW, love this case!


----------------------------------


nice. couple of things.. try to turn the cpu cooler, make it go upwards. both top fans should be exaust. the back fan you can have it blowing air in towards cpu area.
and the psu taking cold air from beneath....also if something like a screw falls in youre screwed anyway lol...and i think my 850 watter is a bit less tall so maybe just maybe i could snatch a dual slot on the bottom? :)

thanks maite...im thinking to go with charlies 4 slot mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 09:08 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
would my 590 cm take fOUR dual slot cards? hmmmmmmmmmm.
Eere are the ones tested / approved by EVGA for their X58 series boards:

  • Lian Li PC-P80
  • Lian Li PC-P80R
  • HEC 98 98R9BB
  • Thermaltake Xaser VI VG4000SNA
  • Thermaltake Xaser VI VG4000BWS
  • Thermaltake Xaser VI VG4000BNS
  • Thermaltake Xaser VI VG4000BNSB
  • Thermaltake ArmorPlus VH6000BWS
  • Mountain Mods Acension w/ Modular Motherboard Tray 10 PCI Slot
  • Xigmatek CPC-T75UB-U01
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 09:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,726

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
----------------------------------


nice. couple of things.. try to turn the cpu cooler, make it go upwards. both top fans should be exaust. the back fan you can have it blowing air in towards cpu area.
and the psu taking cold air from beneath....also if something like a screw falls in youre screwed anyway lol...and i think my 850 watter is a bit less tall so maybe just maybe i could snatch a dual slot on the bottom? :)

thanks maite...im thinking to go with charlies 4 slot mobo.
Best be quick.... you're not the only one who's looking at it....
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 09:16 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buck Nasty View Post
Naked!!!!!!


I have that exact shelf!!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 09:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Best be quick.... you're not the only one who's looking at it....

i know. dudes local too lol
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 10:01 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Yup i would of got that LIAN LI Lancool PC-K56 but i already had a 900 just sitting around.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 04:17 AM
Buck Nasty's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: TechPowerUp!
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
----------------------------------


nice. couple of things.. try to turn the cpu cooler, make it go upwards. both top fans should be exaust. the back fan you can have it blowing air in towards cpu area.
and the psu taking cold air from beneath....also if something like a screw falls in youre screwed anyway lol...and i think my 850 watter is a bit less tall so maybe just maybe i could snatch a dual slot on the bottom? :)

thanks maite...im thinking to go with charlies 4 slot mobo.
I cannot turn the fan. There is a naked mobo on the tier directly above the case. I have removed the Fan that exhaust's upwards. Anyway, CPU temps are never a problem for me with the open cases.
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 07:39 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

The problem with turning the CPU heatsink fan in a folding box is that you end up just blowing hot air from the GPUs through the heatsink - and that is a bad thing. I've tried both configurations in one of my boxes, and with the fan blowing sideways, the temps were a good 7-8 degrees lower than blowing up - and that's a bloody huge difference!
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 12:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yup, but since the gpus are the main coarse, a few mhz less on cpu wouldnt make that much of a difference, woudlnt it? :)
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 10:04 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
yup, but since the gpus are the main coarse, a few mhz less on cpu wouldnt make that much of a difference, woudlnt it? :)
No, very little IF ANY real difference.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
electricity , folding , folding@home , power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 09:24 PM
Quick guide to using your PS3 for Folding@Home chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 May 2, 2010 10:16 AM
Want to save Electricity while Folding with your Videocard??? Follow these Steps! Dashock HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 April 21, 2009 11:05 PM
Folding at home questions slisgrinder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 April 16, 2009 06:12 PM
Folding@home gpu benchmarks chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 49 December 4, 2008 06:06 PM