Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 08:53 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Spares? I've got too many of them. I was looking at re-installing W7 anyway.
lol ok. im still on xp on me mains for a reason. wayy too many known issues...emphasis on known :)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 08:56 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Well, for a folding farm that never gets used WindowsXP 32/64 is ideal. I use 32bit, but I think 3.0Charlie might have to use 64bit with all that video card mem he needs to address...

Hrmmm... you using Win7 32 bit right now? Is it possible there isn't enough address space for all those cards?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 08:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

W7 64bit
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 09:18 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

bah. ok.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 03:29 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
Hey I've been folding for a while and recently I noticed F@H never actually was accomplishing anything. All it said was "working: 0/0" Upon reading the log I discovered this....

[22:59:28] NANs detected on GPU
[22:59:28]
[22:59:28] Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
[22:59:31] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
[22:59:31] Sending work to server
[22:59:31] Project: 5767 (Run 10, Clone 109, Gen 1096)
[22:59:31] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
[22:59:31] - Error: Could not get length of results file work/wuresults_00.dat
[22:59:31] - Error: Could not read unit 00 file. Removing from queue.
[22:59:31] EUE limit exceeded. Pausing 24 hours.


So it just can't read any files. What's up with it?
Okay, lets try to figure this out....

I'm going to assume that you can play a game at this time without it crashing? If you can't, then we've got other bugs to track down.

So, providing you can successfully game try this:

1. Delete the files in the GPU folding drawer (I believe you did this) Delete these:
- work folder
- FahCore_11.exe
- FahCore_14.exe
- FAHlog.txt (and "prev" one, if it exists)
- queue.dat
- unitinfo.txt

Now start the client up again, does it fold? If you get more EUEs then:

2. Download and install EVGA Precision. Underclock your GPU. If it is a GTX260 card then it should underclock all the way down to 400mhz, I believe. Then, also ramp up your fan speed to 100%. The noise from the fan will tell you that your settings were indeed accepted and will also double to keep the card as cool as possible.

Then retry step 1.

3. Install the latest drivers. Or, if you're running Vista and have the GTX260, install 182.08, which has worked well for me thus far.

4. Download and use the Folding@home - Download MemtestG80 and other useful stress testing tools to see if perhaps you have bad RAM on your card. If so, look into an RMA. Make sure to test at least 768 megs of ram and not the default 128.

5. Perhaps try using EVGA's Voltage Tuner in order to set your voltage to the default 1125mV. If you don't have an EVGA card then I can give you a FIXED EVGA Voltage tool that will allow you to use it on any brand GTX2x0 card and even allow crazy dangerous voltages above the 1288mV that EVGA imposes.

I think that's about it for now, can't think of anything else at the moment....
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 03:45 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Agree. Especially the work folder and queue.dat.
The 182.6 drivers also work very well, for me anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 04:37 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

I have deleted those items in the folder and underclocked it and raised the speed. It runs everything else perfectly fine, when running F@H temps also aren't spiking so it's not doing any work at all. I hate to be lazy and all but if F@H really needs this much attention I'm not going crazy trying to fix it. I have other things to do. I will not re-install windows, update windows or anything to get it working, I just don't have enough time. When I get my new 1TB HDD and install Windows 7 I'll put some more effort into it.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 05:28 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Well, you shouldn't have to reinstall windows, but you should definately be doing all your windows updates.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 06:13 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Everything is updated (drivers, windows, F@H). I'm not going back in drivers as I will lose lots of FPS in games.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 06:28 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

It's still just EUE'ing?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can this work? hohohee Off Topic 16 May 27, 2009 05:50 PM
Does this work? Infiniti Water Cooling 3 January 15, 2009 06:10 PM
Will This Work? Infiniti Video Cards 2 July 21, 2008 11:54 AM
Will This Work? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 9 March 5, 2008 05:02 PM
Will this all work? Infiniti Water Cooling 11 January 8, 2008 09:50 PM