Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 12:38 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Set Affinity/Priority with WinAFC

Anyone having problems setting affinity/priority check out WinAFC:
WinAFC | Get WinAFC at SourceForge.net
(Don't click the 'Download Now' button... click 'View all files' and make sure to get the proper version for your OS)

Download and extract the .zip archive.
Open the file 'affinityinput.txt' and add these lines to the 'Application Profile Lines' section (at the bottom):

Code:
*\FahCore_11.exe := PAIR0+PAIR1+PAIR2+PAIR3 [priority=High]
*\FahCore_14.exe := PAIR0+PAIR1+PAIR2+PAIR3 [priority=High]
This sets affinity of GPU client to all cores and sets priority to high.
You can also set CPU affinity/priority for VMware folding:

Code:
*\vmware-vmx.exe := PAIR0+PAIR1+PAIR2+PAIR3 [priority=Low]
Note:
The above code is for Intel i7 systems with HT on.
Here are the values for other processors...

Code:
Intel & AMD Dual Core: CPU0, CPU1 or PAIR0
Intel QuadCore: CPU0, CPU1, CPU2, CPU3 or PAIR0, PAIR1
AMD QuadCore: CPU0, CPU1, CPU2, CPU3 or QUAD0
Intel Core i7 (HT on): CPU0+CPU1+CPU2+CPU3+CPU4+CPU5+CPU6+CPU7 or PAIR0+PAIR1+PAIR2+PAIR3
Intel Core i7 (HT off): QUAD0
Note 2:
WinAFC needs to be 'Run as Administrator' to work properly.

Important:
Test mode is used to check your syntax and is enabled by default.
When enabled any changes you make will have no effect.
To shut off test mode set to 0, or comment the line with # :
Code:
#
# WinAFC Input File
#
# Lines that start with a '#' and empty lines are ignored. 
# Configuration lines include global flag setting lines, and application profile
# lines. These lines can be interleaved in any order. However, the order in which
# you specify the various application profiles matters if a process could be
# matched by multiple application profiles.
# To run AffinityChanger in TestMode (no affinity settings are modified),
# uncomment the line below and specify a value different than zero. To disable 
# test mode, set the value to 0 or comment the line below.
# It is recommended that you try the input file in test mode first, after you
# make changes, especially if you are unfamiliar with the syntax.
TestMode = 0



There's lots more info on how to use WinAFC: WinAFC
Hope someone finds this helpful.


(Tested on Vista Home Premium 64bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit.)

Last edited by somecanadianguy; November 22, 2009 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 12:50 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Do you know if WinAFC is good at self-discovering cores that are physical pairs on an Intel quad? If, for example, CPU0 and CPU3 are a physical pair, then would using PAIR0 select CPU0 and CPU1 or the real physical pair? This has always been a manual task for me.

Thanks for the guide - you're awesome!
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 12:52 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Do you know if WinAFC is good at self-discovering cores that are physical pairs on an Intel quad? If, for example, CPU0 and CPU3 are a physical pair, then would using PAIR0 select CPU0 and CPU1 or the real physical pair?
Not sure about that yet.
I just got this set up last night.
Wasn't going to post until I tested it out a little more, but saw some others asking about affinity/priority so figured I'd just post it now.
If I'm missing anything someone please let me know.
So far I'm only using it for the GPU and leave my VMware clients at 'Normal' priority.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 15, 2009 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 01:01 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Hey Sir, would you mind if I 'copy' your info and add it to our "Folding Tools" Thread? VERY useful information for the Folders out there! :)
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 01:03 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Hey Sir, would you mind if I 'copy' your info and add it to our "Folding Tools" Thread? VERY useful information for the Folders out there! :)
Hey Sir, go right ahead .
Glad I could add something useful.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 01:43 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Added! :)
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 02:46 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Leaving your VMs at normal will eat up your PPD... they need to be at low.

I also tested the difference between "Above" and "high" priorities on the GPU client. I honestly think "above" is better after testing because it interferes less with the machine when running other video intensive applications and the difference in PPD was minimal.

"High" was causing all sorts of pauses in video based applications.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 03:31 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I haven't noticed much of a ppd loss with VM clients set to 'Normal' priority.
Will set it back to 'Low' and watch more closely.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 05:20 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

I get this warning at the end:
WARNING: CWinAFCDLG::TraverseProcessList: there are no valid application profiles. The program will auto-pause
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 05:42 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I get this warning at the end:
WARNING: CWinAFCDLG::TraverseProcessList: there are no valid application profiles. The program will auto-pause
Do you have WinAFC set to run as Admin?
If so, check your code again to be sure it's right (CPU0, PAIR0... all caps).
Oh, and if you have 64bit OS make sure you have WinAFC64.exe
Browse WinAFC Files on SourceForge.net

Here's the bottom of my affinityinput.txt:
Code:
##################################################
##          Application Profile lines
##################################################
#
# An application profile is specified on a single line. 
# An application profile includes the following information: an application
# name, a CPU mask, and optional attributes in the following format:
# C:\Path\To\Application := CPU0+CPU1 [attr1=val1,attr2=val2]
#
# Check the documentation and the provided examples for more 
# information about these fields.
*\FahCore_11.exe := PAIR0+PAIR1+PAIR2+PAIR3 [priority=High]
*\FahCore_14.exe := PAIR0+PAIR1+PAIR2+PAIR3 [priority=High]

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 15, 2009 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
affinity , folding , folding@home , priority , winafc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permanent processor affinity? CMetaphor CPU's and Motherboards 19 July 21, 2010 11:11 AM
2.1 set Josef Audio 5 June 26, 2009 05:31 AM
CLI+GPU Affinity Setter geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 September 12, 2008 08:10 PM
Intel Affinity Patch? J2TheROC CPU's and Motherboards 4 May 23, 2008 07:15 PM
Setting Core Affinity Cptn Vortex HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 January 7, 2008 09:42 PM