Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 04:04 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

What's Flannel?

Hmm, anyone tried this on a dual core setup?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 04:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
What's Flannel?
I hope you're kidding; otherwise we might have to revoke your Canadianship...
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Hmm, anyone tried this on a dual core setup?
What would be the point in that? The ability to run a four-core VM is useless on a dual-core CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 04:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Gained 1.2k ppd going to the new Player over the Server.

That's with 4 Clients with 4 Cores each and 2 Gb of Ram. Cooler temps by 2C.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 04:53 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

if it is still at 100% load, why would there be a drop in temp?
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 04:59 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

It has been reported as such and this is what I see through CoreTemp; can't explain why. 100% usage.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 05:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Running a single VM requires less CPU resources than running two due to lack of overhead from running the second VM. System responsiveness will be better along with the reduction in CPU temps. Power consumption should go down as well, if you have any way of measuring it.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 08:21 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Works great. Fired up 1 VMWare instance on my Q6600 and it does about 5k PPD plus another 7k PPD from the 250.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 09:39 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

You running at 3.6 on that Q6600?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 07:52 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Nope, 3.2. It's just a media/folding PC and it runs hotter than I like at 3.6
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 10:49 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Hmmm this is rather disturbing:

Before: 2 VMware cores on 4 Processors = 3400 - 3600 PPD total at 2.8GHz

After: 1 VMware core on 4 Processors = 7059 PPD at 4.0GHz

So I doubled my output by running at 4.0GHz and then some? And I still have 4 processor cores left... does that mean an i7 - 860 could do 14.000 PPD???

Here's the Benchmark copy: (Mind you, the WU is not finished yet)

-- 860 - 1 --

Min. Time / Frame : 3mn 36s - 7680.00 ppd
Avg. Time / Frame : 13mn 25s - 2060.72 ppd
Cur. Time / Frame : 4mn 07s - 6716.11 ppd
R3F. Time / Frame : 3mn 52s - 7150.34 ppd
Eff. Time / Frame : 23mn 12s - 1191.72 ppd
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Istanbul 6 cores 2009 ! matsta31 Press Releases & Tech News 5 April 22, 2009 01:55 PM
Cores missing! BT! CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 10, 2009 05:26 PM
AMD = 12 Cores Para_Franck Rumor Mill 28 July 16, 2008 11:27 PM
8 Intel cores faster than 16 AMD cores? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 0 May 24, 2007 06:54 AM
Where to get Orthos for 4 cores? francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 March 17, 2007 11:14 AM