Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 01:36 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Athlon II X4 620?

I'm putting together a budget build for my gf...

Athlon II X4 620
Gigabyte MA785GMT-UD2H Motherboard
2x2GB Crucial 1333MHz DDR3

Will it be worth the effort/electricity to have the CPU fold when she's not using it?
Anyone know what kind of impact the lack of L3 cache will have on f@h?

If I can afford a half-decent video card I'll try to run the GPU client too whenever she'll let me.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 2, 2009 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 01:50 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Just put a couple of the regular CPU clients on it in service mode at 80% usage or so. She won't even notice they're there - they'll be completed backgrounded and won't impact the machine's performance when she's using it because they'll be running at the lowest CPU priority. The electricity impact will be negligeable. It won't net you a tonne of points, but hey - every little bit matters.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2009, 04:44 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

How many ppd should I expect?
Has anyone got one of these chips folding yet?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 11:39 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
How many ppd should I expect?
Under 1000.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 11:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Under 1000.
I don't know if it would be that low. When only my CPU(Phenom II X4 940 at 3.57ghz) folds, I get over 4000 ppd. I was quite surprised I got that much, but I would assume the Athlon II X4 620 would get between 1000 and 2000.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 11:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilauea View Post
I don't know if it would be that low. When only my CPU(Phenom II X4 940 at 3.57ghz) folds, I get over 4000 ppd. I was quite surprised I got that much, but I would assume the Athlon II X4 620 would get between 1000 and 2000.
We're talking standard clients here. More than 250PPD or so per client would be unlikely.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 12:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
We're talking standard clients here. More than 250PPD or so per client would be unlikely.
Ooh I was talking about it with VMware.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 02:09 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'll probably get Vmware setup on it.
Should I really expect to see under 2000ppd?
I'll likely get to OC it eventually and I'm hoping to hit somewhere around 3.2GHz.
These chips are supposed to be very similar to the Phenom II X4 but without any L3 cache.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 4, 2009 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 02:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you run two Linux VMs on it, you should see around 3000-3500PPD at stock speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 02:31 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

2 VMware setups should get you around 3000PPD. My sister's Athlon X2 @ 2.65Ghz gets like 1300PPD when she doesn't use the computer. Since the Athlon II are a bit faster than the Athlon, that sounds about right.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
L3 cache is unlockable on Athlon II X4 620, benchmarks galore Unknownm Press Releases & Tech News 0 August 27, 2009 03:15 PM
Corsair's 620 W 90% efficient PSU Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 20 May 8, 2009 10:36 AM
HW 620 Dave510 Power Supplies 4 May 4, 2009 05:11 PM
[WTB] Corsair HX 620 Watt power supply anabioz Buy/Sell & Trade 2 March 19, 2009 07:17 AM
Athlon +6000 OC kcksteve Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 February 22, 2008 11:09 AM